Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Outstanding cookie. A couple of hints I discovered. Combine the granulated sugar and almond paste in a food processor first, until it looks like sand. Place in a mixing bowl and mix in other dry ingredients and lastly add the egg whites. Chill 20 - 30 minutes and use a small ice cream scoop to get uniform portions. When rolling in almonds, flatten the cookies pressing into the almonds which helps them adhere to the cookie. Forget oiling the pan and use parchment paper instead. However, after removing from the oven, let the cookies cool at least 10 minutes before trying to remove. The cookies harden and easily slide off the parchment. If you have a shortage of pans, slide the entire parchment off the pan to let the cookies cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Without a doubt the BEST chewy almond cookie I've found!! My daughter and I thought we had tasted the best one in Europe on a recent trip but these are even better! Good tips .... begin by putting paste and white sugar in the food processor. Also beat egg whites to soft peaks before adding them and add them LAST. Also chilling the dough 30 min when assembled. Parchment paper solves any sticking problem and let them cool 10 min before remove to the wire rack. They are DIVINE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Excellent but dough is so sticky that it's better to mix in stand mixer and pipe out using a pastry bag into the sliced almonds. Use a Silpat matt or teflon matt to bake on. Cookies just slip off when done. I find the ones from the Italian bakery in Toronto seem to have a lot more flour so will add more next time. Did add a bit of almond oil also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Holy cow these were awesome. I split the recipe in half and still got a about 36 cookies. Made them the day before and they were still great the next day. I ran out of sliced almonds very quickly - halfway through (I was probably making the cookie s way too large) however, I just made the other half without them and they were just as good. As a matter of fact I may do that again next time because I thoguht it made a good presentation to have both on a platter. These are a little chewy but the contrast is nice - crispy on outside and chewy and soft on the inside. As the recipe says, the dough is very sticky so just pop it in the fridge for a few minutes before working with it and that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent. Only thing I like to mention is when using egg white make sure they are @ room temperature and beaten soft peeks. Fold in with ingredients and when finally mixed together and if you still find chuck of paste, then my suggestion is with a rubber spatula press down the pieces until you don't see any chuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
These were so WONDERFUL!!! They remind me of the cookies available at a local Italian bakery (the Missouri Bakery in St. Louis). I skipped the last step of rolling in almonds, and I also mixed the cookies with my electric mixer. I was kind of nervous about doing so, but the cookies were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
These are excellent cookies. I followed the advice of David Spaulding and they came out perfectly. The processing, adding the eggs last, chilling 30 minutes, and using parchment paper were all great suggestions. These cookies tasted great and looked very appealing. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psi1497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by louisabjohnson
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These cookies are really special... they cook up crispy on the outside and so very chewy on the inside, and they keep that way for DAYS, if you can keep yourself from eating them. My boyfriend's family is classic Italian and they grew up in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn, where EVERYONE knows the "only" way to make something. My cooking always seems to fall short, but when I brought these cookies over one day, the family raved that it was "better than the bakery" and they BEGGED me to make more. His notoriously picky father called days later to request a batch. Guys, no joke, these are a winner. Make them to give as gift to anyone you're hoping to impress. Baking tips, chill the dough for 30 mins before rolling. Use parchment paper. If you buy sliced almonds, crush them up even smaller and you'll need more than the recipe says. I like to flatten mine a little before baking. If you don't, they come out a little boulder-shaped. For a prettier cookie, flatten the dough balls before baking. When they look a little underdone, they're done. Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Very yummy cookies...I used my Kitchen Aid mixer with the flat beater to mix dough...much easier. I also chilled the dough and wet my hands with a bit of cool water before handling dough. I think when I make them next Christmas, I will probably make my own almond paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
The cookie was divine. I have tasted many a almond cookie over the years and these are about the best! Better than my Sicilian aunt's cookie. The taste definitely makes up for the extreme messiness in preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States