Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Oh my gosh, lethal! I have never met a cookie I didn't like, but I LOVE these. I made them for an Italian dinner party and served them with a fabulous jelato purchased from a local deli. These were devoured in minutes and even my cookie-snob brother-in-law said he thought he was in Italy. I did follow the suggestions from others, thank you. I beat the egg whites to meringue consistency, added almond extract and baked on parchment paper. These are so much easier than cut-out almond cookies and you can whip up a batch quickly with minimal kitchen mess. Hide some back for morning coffee! Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I've been making these for 6 years now and they are ALWAYS a hit! I use a Kitchen aid stand mixer and put the almond paste and egg whites in with the flat paddle and mix until smooth. I then add the white and powdered sugar and the flour and mix until blended. I put the sliced almonds in the blender or food processor to just "chop" them a little smaller (not powdery). I then, using two table spoons, drop spoonfuls of the dough into the chopped almonds, and roll them in the almonds until coated using the almonds to protect your fingers! I make them into crescent shapes. No sticky hands, no dirty pastry bags etc. I used to try to mix by hand but they were never mixed thoroughly. I've been using this mixer method for the last 3 years and they are always perfect. No chunks of almond paste and no mess! I also ALWAYS use 1 cup of liquid egg substitute ( regular or whites) for the 8 egg whites...PERFECT,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I used the suggestions made by David Spaulding and they turned out fantastic! Crisp outside and chewy inside - just how I like my cookies. I ran out of sliced almonds, so I may have excessively pressed them into the cookie dough but that's my mistake! Delicious! Will be making these again as I have a few friends that either are dairy-free or just don't like chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Just took a test batch of four cookies from the oven and have eaten two! They are yummy. However, I made my own almond paste - very simple to do and fresh, flavorful and frugal! Anyway, because the highly rated recipe called for egg whites as does this one, my dough is more like a batter, about the consistency of a cake batter. For my test batch I just dribbled some into the almonds and scooped the mess onto a greased parchment paper. They didn't stick however they are not a nice enough presentation to make it into my "Grown-up Christmas Cookie box". I am refrigerating the dough and will see if I can resurrect this one. The reason for three stars is because until you read about thirty of the reviewers you don't get all the tips and tricks to adjust the recipe and handling of the dough. One reviewer said to make almond paste with corn syrup instead of egg whites so you don't get a flat cookie! Well, who knew I should read back a decade to figure this out! There are a lot of other good tips in the reviews. So, I basically think someone should repost this recipe and incorporate the tips. Since homemade almond paste is so simple and a nice touch, the new recipe should be based on that as well. If I figure all this out maybe it will be me! If you are planning to make this recipe, do your self a big favor and spend about twenty minutes reading the reviews and taking some notes! By the way, I am not a novice baker so this critique is not pique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is hands down my favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Newman
Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Have made these several times and have tips to make it easier: 1) As David said, mix in the granulated sugar first. 2) Use parchment paper. 3) If you make your own almond paste, use the recipe that does NOT use egg whites but uses corn syrup instead. This will give the cookies the right texture. Too much egg white makes a runny cookie. 4) add a half teaspoon of almond flavoring to the egg whites before mixing. 5) After mixing everything, use one hand to dip the dough with a teaspoon; use the other to push into the bowl of sliced almonds. I find it easier to use just my pointer finger when rolling the dough in the nuts. Keep the spoon hand clean - you'll be much happier! These cookies are wasted on children - save them as a dessert cookie for guests. Guys love this cookie, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I come from a large Italian family and I have been wanting a recipe for Almond Paste cookies. Well, this is it. I use my Kitchen-Aid stand mixer and follow the directions exactly. These cookies are phenomenal. My family insists that they are better than the ones at the local Italian pastry shops. This recipe takes a little bit of effort, but it is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Buda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These cookies are awesome! I used my mixer instead of mixing with my hands. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
we are lucky enough to have a very high quality greek bakery here in town. their almond cookies are simple and amazing, so i thought i would try my hand at fixing this recipe. i tried 2 different brands of almond paste, and frankly, i can tell no difference between batches. these came out wonderfully and so far, they have retained their freshness after almost a week in the fridge. people are recommending that the sugar and paste be blended together in a food processor. i did this, and i cant imagine trying to work the sugar in the paste by hand! what a bear that would be! the point being: yes, the processor was great suggestion! i also added the egg last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJCayea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is an amazing cookie! The one thing I changed was to use chopped (almost ground) almonds instead of sliced. I think they work better than sliced, because the almonds brown more evenly. I chilled the dough, and then kind of dropped it into the chopped almonds and rolled the ball around, so I didn't have to deal with the stickiness. I also did all the mixing in my food processor. A friend made the recipe with sliced, and they just weren't as good. It's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States