Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Without a doubt the BEST chewy almond cookie I've found!! My daughter and I thought we had tasted the best one in Europe on a recent trip but these are even better! Good tips .... begin by putting paste and white sugar in the food processor. Also beat egg whites to soft peaks before adding them and add them LAST. Also chilling the dough 30 min when assembled. Parchment paper solves any sticking problem and let them cool 10 min before remove to the wire rack. They are DIVINE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Delicious!!! I followed Davd's advice and these cookies came out perfect!! thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I make these cookies every year and they are outstanding.The helpful hints that David suggested worked out beautifully. Well worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Just like my Italian Aunts made! Fantastic. I do want to point out covering the entire cookie with almonds is the key. No sticking. I did use parchment paper and they slipped right off. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
These are excellent cookies. I followed the advice of David Spaulding and they came out perfectly. The processing, adding the eggs last, chilling 30 minutes, and using parchment paper were all great suggestions. These cookies tasted great and looked very appealing. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psi1497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
hello everyone. the flavor of this cookie is very mild and fragant, but not sweet and dense enough. can anyone tell me if i made these incorrectly? the batter is very very sticky and when i dropped the cookie into the sliced almonds, the batter basically "melted" into a blob and the almonds end up being part of the entire cookie, not just coating the outside. i followed one reviewers advice and put the batter in the fridge to chill for half and hour, but the batter didn't stiffen too much. i halfed the recipe to make 36 cookies, but ended up getting like 50-60 cookies using a teaspoon size like the recipe suggests. would appreciate the advice because i LOVE almond flavor and would like to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Outstanding cookie. A couple of hints I discovered. Combine the granulated sugar and almond paste in a food processor first, until it looks like sand. Place in a mixing bowl and mix in other dry ingredients and lastly add the egg whites. Chill 20 - 30 minutes and use a small ice cream scoop to get uniform portions. When rolling in almonds, flatten the cookies pressing into the almonds which helps them adhere to the cookie. Forget oiling the pan and use parchment paper instead. However, after removing from the oven, let the cookies cool at least 10 minutes before trying to remove. The cookies harden and easily slide off the parchment. If you have a shortage of pans, slide the entire parchment off the pan to let the cookies cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Wow these are soo good. My family are huge almond/marzipan lovers and these were a hit for Christmas. Very gooey upon prep, but worth the mess. My new favorite Christmas cookie/tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
My husband LOVED these cookies....not to mention the rest of my family!! I followed the others suggestions and refrigerated the dough and I liberally greased my cookie sheets with crisco and used a metal spatula to remove the cookies, because they do stick a little!! Do not use wax paper as they DO stick even when greased!! (tested a few !!ugghhh!!! ) Well thanks for an awesome cookie recipe I will be making for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Excellent but dough is so sticky that it's better to mix in stand mixer and pipe out using a pastry bag into the sliced almonds. Use a Silpat matt or teflon matt to bake on. Cookies just slip off when done. I find the ones from the Italian bakery in Toronto seem to have a lot more flour so will add more next time. Did add a bit of almond oil also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States