Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Great recipe. Just to try it out, I used only one can of almond paste (8oz) and cut the remaining ingredients down by 3/4. Turned out really well. Will definitely be making more for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My cookies looked nothing like the photo. They were very crisp, tasty for sure, but not like the others said they would be. I think another 1 cup of flour would have helped and it wasn't until the last few batches that I did add the flour, and it did hold together better, but still not soft inside or chewy. It does make a huge amount though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
hmmm, very good taste....BUT mine did NOT turn out even close to resembling the picture. Mine were flat as a pancake, so I added a little more flour to see if that would help....nope....I am going to keep playing around with this...they are pretty darn tasty though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
These are terrific cookies. They remind me of Dutch Butter Letter. I too chilled the batter for 30 min or so, making it easier to work with. Rolling the cookies in the almonds give the a very pretty appearance. They look and tasted better than a bakery cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
these are outstanding- my sis and I have been on the hunt for this cookie because we grew up on the east coast and had these from fine italian bakeries. for a really nice presentation- seperate portions of dough and dye them green and pink press a cherry in the middle and bake as directed. it looks beautiful to put out a plate of some plain- some with almond slivers and some with the halved cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Without a doubt the BEST chewy almond cookie I've found!! My daughter and I thought we had tasted the best one in Europe on a recent trip but these are even better! Good tips .... begin by putting paste and white sugar in the food processor. Also beat egg whites to soft peaks before adding them and add them LAST. Also chilling the dough 30 min when assembled. Parchment paper solves any sticking problem and let them cool 10 min before remove to the wire rack. They are DIVINE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Delicious!!! I followed Davd's advice and these cookies came out perfect!! thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I make these cookies every year and they are outstanding.The helpful hints that David suggested worked out beautifully. Well worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Just like my Italian Aunts made! Fantastic. I do want to point out covering the entire cookie with almonds is the key. No sticking. I did use parchment paper and they slipped right off. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
These are excellent cookies. I followed the advice of David Spaulding and they came out perfectly. The processing, adding the eggs last, chilling 30 minutes, and using parchment paper were all great suggestions. These cookies tasted great and looked very appealing. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psi1497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States