Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I used the suggestions made by David Spaulding and they turned out fantastic! Crisp outside and chewy inside - just how I like my cookies. I ran out of sliced almonds, so I may have excessively pressed them into the cookie dough but that's my mistake! Delicious! Will be making these again as I have a few friends that either are dairy-free or just don't like chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Just took a test batch of four cookies from the oven and have eaten two! They are yummy. However, I made my own almond paste - very simple to do and fresh, flavorful and frugal! Anyway, because the highly rated recipe called for egg whites as does this one, my dough is more like a batter, about the consistency of a cake batter. For my test batch I just dribbled some into the almonds and scooped the mess onto a greased parchment paper. They didn't stick however they are not a nice enough presentation to make it into my "Grown-up Christmas Cookie box". I am refrigerating the dough and will see if I can resurrect this one. The reason for three stars is because until you read about thirty of the reviewers you don't get all the tips and tricks to adjust the recipe and handling of the dough. One reviewer said to make almond paste with corn syrup instead of egg whites so you don't get a flat cookie! Well, who knew I should read back a decade to figure this out! There are a lot of other good tips in the reviews. So, I basically think someone should repost this recipe and incorporate the tips. Since homemade almond paste is so simple and a nice touch, the new recipe should be based on that as well. If I figure all this out maybe it will be me! If you are planning to make this recipe, do your self a big favor and spend about twenty minutes reading the reviews and taking some notes! By the way, I am not a novice baker so this critique is not pique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is hands down my favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Have made these several times and have tips to make it easier: 1) As David said, mix in the granulated sugar first. 2) Use parchment paper. 3) If you make your own almond paste, use the recipe that does NOT use egg whites but uses corn syrup instead. This will give the cookies the right texture. Too much egg white makes a runny cookie. 4) add a half teaspoon of almond flavoring to the egg whites before mixing. 5) After mixing everything, use one hand to dip the dough with a teaspoon; use the other to push into the bowl of sliced almonds. I find it easier to use just my pointer finger when rolling the dough in the nuts. Keep the spoon hand clean - you'll be much happier! These cookies are wasted on children - save them as a dessert cookie for guests. Guys love this cookie, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I come from a large Italian family and I have been wanting a recipe for Almond Paste cookies. Well, this is it. I use my Kitchen-Aid stand mixer and follow the directions exactly. These cookies are phenomenal. My family insists that they are better than the ones at the local Italian pastry shops. This recipe takes a little bit of effort, but it is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These cookies are awesome! I used my mixer instead of mixing with my hands. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
we are lucky enough to have a very high quality greek bakery here in town. their almond cookies are simple and amazing, so i thought i would try my hand at fixing this recipe. i tried 2 different brands of almond paste, and frankly, i can tell no difference between batches. these came out wonderfully and so far, they have retained their freshness after almost a week in the fridge. people are recommending that the sugar and paste be blended together in a food processor. i did this, and i cant imagine trying to work the sugar in the paste by hand! what a bear that would be! the point being: yes, the processor was great suggestion! i also added the egg last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJCayea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is an amazing cookie! The one thing I changed was to use chopped (almost ground) almonds instead of sliced. I think they work better than sliced, because the almonds brown more evenly. I chilled the dough, and then kind of dropped it into the chopped almonds and rolled the ball around, so I didn't have to deal with the stickiness. I also did all the mixing in my food processor. A friend made the recipe with sliced, and they just weren't as good. It's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I tried the recipe for Italian almond paste but the cookie flattened into a gooey mess. I didn't have an actual batter. The recipe called for one cup of flour. I followed the instructions exactly. Why did this happen? I would like to try again. The cookie tasted great. Can I get some help please?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by louisabjohnson
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These cookies are really special... they cook up crispy on the outside and so very chewy on the inside, and they keep that way for DAYS, if you can keep yourself from eating them. My boyfriend's family is classic Italian and they grew up in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn, where EVERYONE knows the "only" way to make something. My cooking always seems to fall short, but when I brought these cookies over one day, the family raved that it was "better than the bakery" and they BEGGED me to make more. His notoriously picky father called days later to request a batch. Guys, no joke, these are a winner. Make them to give as gift to anyone you're hoping to impress. Baking tips, chill the dough for 30 mins before rolling. Use parchment paper. If you buy sliced almonds, crush them up even smaller and you'll need more than the recipe says. I like to flatten mine a little before baking. If you don't, they come out a little boulder-shaped. For a prettier cookie, flatten the dough balls before baking. When they look a little underdone, they're done. Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States