Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
WONDERFUL COOKIES! I have looked high and low for this recipe and finally found it. It was better than my local Italian Bakery! I used a small melon scooper to get all the same size cookies, and eliminated me having to touch the batter. Worked out beautifully! This one is a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I had been looking forward to creating a batch of these due to the reviews it had been given, but I was very disappointed with the result. These cookies clung on like limpets to the baking trays. I cooked in very small batches after the first one came out glued to the cookie sheet - I baked in groups of four - and experimented with a more liberally greased baking sheet, baking parchement, more standing time on the cookie sheet after baking, less standing time on the sheet, a longer cooking time, a sorter cooking time..and finally I discovered that if I floured the sheet in addition to greasing it well, they came off a little easier, but still gave a lot of resistance and I ended up with plenty of 'casualties'. I think that if I were to make this again, I'd cook them on edible rice paper, so I could just cut the cookies off of the lining paper. The cookies themselves were quite nice warm, but once cold my family found them simply too sweet and quite flavourless. I also felt that they really did benifit from a coating in sliced almonds, as I made some coated, some uncoated and I felt the lightly toasted flavour really lifted the blandness of the cookie itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Holy cow these were awesome. I split the recipe in half and still got a about 36 cookies. Made them the day before and they were still great the next day. I ran out of sliced almonds very quickly - halfway through (I was probably making the cookie s way too large) however, I just made the other half without them and they were just as good. As a matter of fact I may do that again next time because I thoguht it made a good presentation to have both on a platter. These are a little chewy but the contrast is nice - crispy on outside and chewy and soft on the inside. As the recipe says, the dough is very sticky so just pop it in the fridge for a few minutes before working with it and that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I made these last year for Christmas and will definitely do so again! My brother-in-law said that they were better than the ones from his favorite bakery. ****UPDATE**** Having made these since 2002, I offer a few tips. 1) Break up the almond paste, and mix as thoroughly as you can into the dry ingredients first. I break up into the flour first, then the sugars. This makes hand mixing much easier in the end. 2) Mixing with cold egg whites makes for very cold hands. Let them sit out a bit. 3) Use a silicone baking mat. They come off much easier. 4) Lastly, Mine this year took 29 minutes per batch in a 350 oven. I have never achieved anything close to 15-20 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
These were so WONDERFUL!!! They remind me of the cookies available at a local Italian bakery (the Missouri Bakery in St. Louis). I skipped the last step of rolling in almonds, and I also mixed the cookies with my electric mixer. I was kind of nervous about doing so, but the cookies were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
My mom has talked about almond cookies ever since we had them on a recent trip to New York. I'm so excited to give them to my mother tomorrow!! What better way to say thanks for a great trip!! Thank you Cindy! I dropped the dough directly from the spoon into the almond mixture then tossed the almonds on top. I had no problem because I never touched the dough without the almonds on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
The cookie was divine. I have tasted many a almond cookie over the years and these are about the best! Better than my Sicilian aunt's cookie. The taste definitely makes up for the extreme messiness in preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Very yummy cookies...I used my Kitchen Aid mixer with the flat beater to mix dough...much easier. I also chilled the dough and wet my hands with a bit of cool water before handling dough. I think when I make them next Christmas, I will probably make my own almond paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is such a great recipe, and it was alot easier than I thought it would be! I used parchment paper for each layer, which made it so easy to remove from the pan, then I used a candy making chocolate bar (Ghiardelli) and painted a thin layer on with a pastry brush. They were perfect!! I will make these every year! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I thought these cookies were kind of candy-like, but who cares...they were AWESOME. If you like a lot of almond flavor you will love these cookies. The dough was EXTREMELY sticky and a bit difficult to work with, even after I greased my hands with butter. I didn't mind because the cookies turned out great. Oh yeah, I didn't have sliced almonds to coat them with but they turned out fine anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States