Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent. Only thing I like to mention is when using egg white make sure they are @ room temperature and beaten soft peeks. Fold in with ingredients and when finally mixed together and if you still find chuck of paste, then my suggestion is with a rubber spatula press down the pieces until you don't see any chuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This recipe is awesome! It's easy and fast. I have had to go home to Boston for the last 14 years to get almond macaroons this good! They are a little pricy to make, but think of the money I am saving in airfare!! Great cookies! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
What a HIT! My Italian friends loved these. Expensive, but worth it. I used a Mixmaster, starting with the dough hooks, then the beaters. I made 1 1/2 batches and used 5 c. sliced almonds, slightly chopped. No problem with sticking using my baking stone. Excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
JEEZ, the almond paste is hugely expensive! Cheapest I could find was $4.80 for an 8 oz jar!!!!!!!! Just for that one ingredient, the cost was $18 - seems a little high to make 72 cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
WONDERFUL COOKIES! I have looked high and low for this recipe and finally found it. It was better than my local Italian Bakery! I used a small melon scooper to get all the same size cookies, and eliminated me having to touch the batter. Worked out beautifully! This one is a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I had been looking forward to creating a batch of these due to the reviews it had been given, but I was very disappointed with the result. These cookies clung on like limpets to the baking trays. I cooked in very small batches after the first one came out glued to the cookie sheet - I baked in groups of four - and experimented with a more liberally greased baking sheet, baking parchement, more standing time on the cookie sheet after baking, less standing time on the sheet, a longer cooking time, a sorter cooking time..and finally I discovered that if I floured the sheet in addition to greasing it well, they came off a little easier, but still gave a lot of resistance and I ended up with plenty of 'casualties'. I think that if I were to make this again, I'd cook them on edible rice paper, so I could just cut the cookies off of the lining paper. The cookies themselves were quite nice warm, but once cold my family found them simply too sweet and quite flavourless. I also felt that they really did benifit from a coating in sliced almonds, as I made some coated, some uncoated and I felt the lightly toasted flavour really lifted the blandness of the cookie itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Holy cow these were awesome. I split the recipe in half and still got a about 36 cookies. Made them the day before and they were still great the next day. I ran out of sliced almonds very quickly - halfway through (I was probably making the cookie s way too large) however, I just made the other half without them and they were just as good. As a matter of fact I may do that again next time because I thoguht it made a good presentation to have both on a platter. These are a little chewy but the contrast is nice - crispy on outside and chewy and soft on the inside. As the recipe says, the dough is very sticky so just pop it in the fridge for a few minutes before working with it and that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I made these last year for Christmas and will definitely do so again! My brother-in-law said that they were better than the ones from his favorite bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
These were so WONDERFUL!!! They remind me of the cookies available at a local Italian bakery (the Missouri Bakery in St. Louis). I skipped the last step of rolling in almonds, and I also mixed the cookies with my electric mixer. I was kind of nervous about doing so, but the cookies were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
My mom has talked about almond cookies ever since we had them on a recent trip to New York. I'm so excited to give them to my mother tomorrow!! What better way to say thanks for a great trip!! Thank you Cindy! I dropped the dough directly from the spoon into the almond mixture then tossed the almonds on top. I had no problem because I never touched the dough without the almonds on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States