Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Great recipe. I used a pastry blender and my fingers to blend the almond and granulated sugar before adding the remaining ingredients. I avoided the sticking problem by using butter on my fingers and scooper as well as the sheet pan. Nothing stuck at all. Under bake rather than over bake. They are simple and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Love them!!!!! Will become a tradition for sure. I rolled them in almond meal and it worked great! Try them you wont be sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Wow! Wonderful flavour. I find using a food processor to cut the almond paste to a fine consistent the easiest. Pour the almond paste into a large bowl and mix the rest of the ingredients in. I decided to keep the mixture in the fridge overnight and it helped retain the shapes of the cookies and keep the center very moist and chewy while the outside nice and crispy. I used two spoons to shape the dough into a ball and drop each into a plate of sliced almonds. I turned the dough around to coat all and slightly flatten each before putting them on a parchment lined baking sheet. They were not sticky as mentioned in previous posts. This recipe has a big yield - at least 8 to 10 dozens very large sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is exactly what i was looking for! i wanted a recipe for italian almond cookies like the ones i had tasted at an italian bakery and these were a perfect match. the middle has a consistency of no other cookie! Crunchy on the outside, gooey and sticky in the middle MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettypastrychef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I searched high and low for the best almond cookie recipe for a friend who loves all things almond flavored. The taste of the cookie was excellent. I found that 2 cups of slices almonds was not enough to "coat" as instructed. For the second half of the batter/dough I had to just top them with almonds (more like the picture) but then they ended up sticking to my parchment paper which made for a few hollow cookies when the bottoms would get ripped out. All this would be solved by having a ton more sliced almonds. I will definitely make these again - they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Great recipe. Just to try it out, I used only one can of almond paste (8oz) and cut the remaining ingredients down by 3/4. Turned out really well. Will definitely be making more for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My cookies looked nothing like the photo. They were very crisp, tasty for sure, but not like the others said they would be. I think another 1 cup of flour would have helped and it wasn't until the last few batches that I did add the flour, and it did hold together better, but still not soft inside or chewy. It does make a huge amount though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
hmmm, very good taste....BUT mine did NOT turn out even close to resembling the picture. Mine were flat as a pancake, so I added a little more flour to see if that would help....nope....I am going to keep playing around with this...they are pretty darn tasty though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
These are terrific cookies. They remind me of Dutch Butter Letter. I too chilled the batter for 30 min or so, making it easier to work with. Rolling the cookies in the almonds give the a very pretty appearance. They look and tasted better than a bakery cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
these are outstanding- my sis and I have been on the hunt for this cookie because we grew up on the east coast and had these from fine italian bakeries. for a really nice presentation- seperate portions of dough and dye them green and pink press a cherry in the middle and bake as directed. it looks beautiful to put out a plate of some plain- some with almond slivers and some with the halved cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States