Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These cookies are awesome! I used my mixer instead of mixing with my hands. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
we are lucky enough to have a very high quality greek bakery here in town. their almond cookies are simple and amazing, so i thought i would try my hand at fixing this recipe. i tried 2 different brands of almond paste, and frankly, i can tell no difference between batches. these came out wonderfully and so far, they have retained their freshness after almost a week in the fridge. people are recommending that the sugar and paste be blended together in a food processor. i did this, and i cant imagine trying to work the sugar in the paste by hand! what a bear that would be! the point being: yes, the processor was great suggestion! i also added the egg last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJCayea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is an amazing cookie! The one thing I changed was to use chopped (almost ground) almonds instead of sliced. I think they work better than sliced, because the almonds brown more evenly. I chilled the dough, and then kind of dropped it into the chopped almonds and rolled the ball around, so I didn't have to deal with the stickiness. I also did all the mixing in my food processor. A friend made the recipe with sliced, and they just weren't as good. It's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I tried the recipe for Italian almond paste but the cookie flattened into a gooey mess. I didn't have an actual batter. The recipe called for one cup of flour. I followed the instructions exactly. Why did this happen? I would like to try again. The cookie tasted great. Can I get some help please?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by louisabjohnson
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These cookies are really special... they cook up crispy on the outside and so very chewy on the inside, and they keep that way for DAYS, if you can keep yourself from eating them. My boyfriend's family is classic Italian and they grew up in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn, where EVERYONE knows the "only" way to make something. My cooking always seems to fall short, but when I brought these cookies over one day, the family raved that it was "better than the bakery" and they BEGGED me to make more. His notoriously picky father called days later to request a batch. Guys, no joke, these are a winner. Make them to give as gift to anyone you're hoping to impress. Baking tips, chill the dough for 30 mins before rolling. Use parchment paper. If you buy sliced almonds, crush them up even smaller and you'll need more than the recipe says. I like to flatten mine a little before baking. If you don't, they come out a little boulder-shaped. For a prettier cookie, flatten the dough balls before baking. When they look a little underdone, they're done. Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe tastes just like the almond cookies you find in an Italian bakery - which is exactly what I was looking for :) Next time I make them, I'm going to roll only the "top" part of the dough in the sliced almonds, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle Keller
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These cookies are my father's favorite cookie. I make them in my Kitchen Aide Stand mixer and instead of using fresh eggs, I use Just Whites powder and the required water stated on the label, directly in the mixing bowl with all other ingredients (don't prepare in a separate bowl then add). They come out perfect every time. I also use a little ice cream/cookie scoop to drop the batter in the bowl of almonds slices. By far this recipe has become the easiest cookies I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Keller
Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Excellent Amaretti cookie recipe with half the effort. Made my wonderful Italian Husband smile from ear to ear. Great advice from David Spaulding - March 2006 as to blend paste with granulated sugar first then add rest with egg whites at the end. Did not roll in sliced almonds as friends can not eat whole nuts. Used 1 inch ice cream scoop & dipped in water before scooping dough & throughly shook scoop to remove excess water prior to scooping, made for easy removal of dough from scoop. Only change to recipe - might reduce the amount of sugar next time. Would DEFINITELY make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These are absolutely one of the best cookies recipes around! Definitely a keeper and a repeater!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
THE COOKIES ARE GOOD, BUT WHEN I BAKE THEM ....WENT DOWN LIKE A PANCAKE???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States