Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I tried the recipe for Italian almond paste but the cookie flattened into a gooey mess. I didn't have an actual batter. The recipe called for one cup of flour. I followed the instructions exactly. Why did this happen? I would like to try again. The cookie tasted great. Can I get some help please?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by louisabjohnson
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These cookies are really special... they cook up crispy on the outside and so very chewy on the inside, and they keep that way for DAYS, if you can keep yourself from eating them. My boyfriend's family is classic Italian and they grew up in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn, where EVERYONE knows the "only" way to make something. My cooking always seems to fall short, but when I brought these cookies over one day, the family raved that it was "better than the bakery" and they BEGGED me to make more. His notoriously picky father called days later to request a batch. Guys, no joke, these are a winner. Make them to give as gift to anyone you're hoping to impress. Baking tips, chill the dough for 30 mins before rolling. Use parchment paper. If you buy sliced almonds, crush them up even smaller and you'll need more than the recipe says. I like to flatten mine a little before baking. If you don't, they come out a little boulder-shaped. For a prettier cookie, flatten the dough balls before baking. When they look a little underdone, they're done. Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe tastes just like the almond cookies you find in an Italian bakery - which is exactly what I was looking for :) Next time I make them, I'm going to roll only the "top" part of the dough in the sliced almonds, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellerdanik
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These cookies are my father's favorite cookie. I make them in my Kitchen Aide Stand mixer and instead of using fresh eggs, I use Just Whites powder and the required water stated on the label, directly in the mixing bowl with all other ingredients (don't prepare in a separate bowl then add). They come out perfect every time. I also use a little ice cream/cookie scoop to drop the batter in the bowl of almonds slices. By far this recipe has become the easiest cookies I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Excellent Amaretti cookie recipe with half the effort. Made my wonderful Italian Husband smile from ear to ear. Great advice from David Spaulding - March 2006 as to blend paste with granulated sugar first then add rest with egg whites at the end. Did not roll in sliced almonds as friends can not eat whole nuts. Used 1 inch ice cream scoop & dipped in water before scooping dough & throughly shook scoop to remove excess water prior to scooping, made for easy removal of dough from scoop. Only change to recipe - might reduce the amount of sugar next time. Would DEFINITELY make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These are absolutely one of the best cookies recipes around! Definitely a keeper and a repeater!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
THE COOKIES ARE GOOD, BUT WHEN I BAKE THEM ....WENT DOWN LIKE A PANCAKE???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I love to cook but am not a baker. Nonetheless, I made a batch of these cookies for the holidays and my mom and I spent HOURS shaping these sticky things. But, WOW, were they delicious with a pillowy soft center and a delicate flavor. I froze about half after baking (recipe made a ton) and defrosted them to great acclaim a week later. I bought the almond paste bulk from NutsOnline and weighed and measured it out, freezing the extra. Will be definitely making these yummy things again but count on taking a lot of time shaping them. Next year, I will put on my Charlie Brown Christmas CD and make a batch for presents! Thanks, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I enjoyed making these delicious cookies. I recommend this recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent cookie!!!! Very easy to prepare, store and give as gifts. People will think you're a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States