Italian Almond Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
These are THE BOMB!!! WOW!! These taste identical to the ones from my local bakery! They are quite messy to make lol the dough is very sticky but it was worth the mess lol Absolutely Delicious!! These made a beautiful addition to the Italian cookie tray I made today!!! Make these!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I came across this recipe after looking for the same type of cookie I had bought at a bakery . I luv anything almond and soon after the bakery closed down so I came to this site in search of the same tasting one and found it. They have become expensive to make but I bake them every year for Christmas for family and friends and as requested I make half the batch w/out almond slivers. These are THE best!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
way too much egg white. when all combined, the batter resembled that of a pancake not a cookies. do yourself a favor, and don't use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This cookie is amazing, tastes just like the almond cookies I buy from our local Italian bakery! Working with the almond paste can be a bit frustrating if you've never worked with it before but if you follow some of the tips from the other raters you should be good to go. I'm stubborn so the first few times I didn't take the tips and tricks into account even though I had read them beforehand. *LOL* Really though running the almond paste through the food processor and then mixing all the ingredients with your electric mixer is the way to go. I refigerate the cookie dough overnight to thicken up then use my small cookie scoop to get the cookies onto the WELL GREASED cookie sheet and press the sliced almonds onto the tops before baking. I have started including these in my Christmas cookie tin assortment and it's become a fast favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Excellent, flavorful, easy to make. I only had 4 oz of almond paste, so I used the calculator to adjust the amounts of remaining ingredients and it worked perfectly. I whipped the flour with the sugars, whipped the egg white separately and then added the almond paste and mixed it all by hand. It's a bit messy, but it's worth it. It made 10 cookies and we unfortunately ate them all as soon as they cooled off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I make these Italian style with toasted pine nuts too. Use a good quality almond paste. I order mine online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Has anyone made this with less sugar? Or is the crucial for this cookie to come out right? I would really appreciate anyone's advice on this. Lots of great advice in the reviews so a BIG thank you to all who contributed. Really hope that someone or many people will help out with the sugar amount. I'm sure I'm not the only one wondering about this. Thanks in advance. Love all recipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
The recipe turned out to be a runny mess - no way to shape, drop or roll it at all. I added more flour - didn't help. I added oats. Didn't help. When I was finally able to thicken it with all the additional things I put in, it still baked to a flat mess. I honestly have no idea how any of you could have followed this recipe and ended up with a cookie type batter that could be shaped or baked with a crunchy exterior and soft chewy interior. Would just having whipped the eggs made all the difference? I love almond cookies and was so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Oh my gosh, lethal! I have never met a cookie I didn't like, but I LOVE these. I made them for an Italian dinner party and served them with a fabulous jelato purchased from a local deli. These were devoured in minutes and even my cookie-snob brother-in-law said he thought he was in Italy. I did follow the suggestions from others, thank you. I beat the egg whites to meringue consistency, added almond extract and baked on parchment paper. These are so much easier than cut-out almond cookies and you can whip up a batch quickly with minimal kitchen mess. Hide some back for morning coffee! Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I've been making these for 6 years now and they are ALWAYS a hit! I use a Kitchen aid stand mixer and put the almond paste and egg whites in with the flat paddle and mix until smooth. I then add the white and powdered sugar and the flour and mix until blended. I put the sliced almonds in the blender or food processor to just "chop" them a little smaller (not powdery). I then, using two table spoons, drop spoonfuls of the dough into the chopped almonds, and roll them in the almonds until coated using the almonds to protect your fingers! I make them into crescent shapes. No sticky hands, no dirty pastry bags etc. I used to try to mix by hand but they were never mixed thoroughly. I've been using this mixer method for the last 3 years and they are always perfect. No chunks of almond paste and no mess! I also ALWAYS use 1 cup of liquid egg substitute ( regular or whites) for the 8 egg whites...PERFECT,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States