It Won't Last Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by estella
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Recipe turned out great! I reduced the oil and sugar and added 2 tbsp of sour cream abs 1tsp baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The first time I made this cake it turned out perfect. I took it to church for Birthday Celebration and it was a hit with everyine. I followed the recipe, didn't change a thing. No over flowing as some have said. I did think it was a little on the sweet side but not too bad, may reduce the sugar in future. The second time I made it something went a little wrong. It started to darken soon after it went in the oven and I had to take it out before the recommended time. About 1 hour is all that is needed. I will probably reduce the temperature next time also, 325 might be better than 350. Maybe it was just my oven. I will surely make this again! It is a wonderful stand alone cake, no frosting needed. I did not add the cherries and I think I might add a little extra pineapple next time. Great moist cake with an addictive flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Cake was not only delicious, it was easy to make. Everyone loved it!!! It honestly was the best cake I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This cake is soooo wonderful. I was expecting it to be "just ok" My non-cake loving husband liked it , too. I just used 1 cup of oil and 2 cups of sugar. I think next time I might add more pineapple...just for experimental purposes. I did not add nuts cauz I didn't have em. I also didn't add cherries. ha ha I guess I really changed it, but the base recipe is wonderful. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good even making it a little healthier! I used 1 cup of applesauce and 1/3 cup of oil. I used 2 cups Splenda and 1 cup sugar. I used about 1/2 cup pecans and 1/2 cup slivered almonds (what I had on hand). I did add a jar of drained maraschino cherries. My bananas were very ripe ones that I had frozen so it made for a very, very moist cake. Pleasantly surprised by this great homemade cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent everytime! I use 1 cup unsweetened applesauce and only 1/3 cup oil, and I substitute sweetened dried cranberries for the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Well Aged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
The very name of this cake convinced me to attempt to make it. I did -- and the entire family and now many of my friends love it!!! I made the cake in a bundt pan and it too came out dark, though I used bleached AP flour. I deviated from the recipe somewhat - adding a bit more banana, cherries and pecans. This cake is now one of those cakes that everyone is asking for at my home. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ali
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe as directed, except that I substituted 1 cup of applesauce for 1 cup of oil (we are on a diet;) ) and only added 2 1/2cups of sugar, as the applesauce had some sugary flavor. I went on a culinary shopping spree this morning and I bought an "Angel Food Pan" - I didn't know better - but it turned out fine, no problems. I will upload my photo and I will update the rating, as directed by my family who still have to try it :) I loved it - but I like anything I make...so, we'll wait for them! UPDATE: 5 starts from my entire family!:) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Nearly as good as the Austrian Black Tea Cake on this site. I reduced the oil down to 1 cup, doubled the cinnamon and added some allspice. I didn't have any problems with it overflowing. It also tastes fantastic with some cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it was excellent! No problem with overflowing, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States