Israeli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
i visited Israel in June and nearly every meal came with this type of salad, even breakfast! even so, i have made this many times and usually emulsify the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt & pepper and then drizzle that over the mixed veggies. blending it helps intensify the flavor IMHO. a tip i learned in Israel is to grate the lemon peel of the lemon used. again, the flavor is just kicked up a notch. nice if you like lemon as I do. (7/11) --so i made this and immediately ate a big bowl with a panzella cracker. just super fresh, clean flavors, delicious. i used persian cukes & followed recipe exactly. while licking the bowl it occured to me that chick peas and some feta would make it spectacular. and that second bowl was indeed. (oh yeah, fresh tomato was the only item i didn't have. i did have a can of muir glen diced toms but decided to wait until i put everything else together. honestly, i thot it was perfect w/o them. i only drizzled olive oil as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
The mint, parsley and green onion all try to trump each other. These do not compliment each other in the slightest. And if you take away the battle of the 'greens' everything else is incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
eh. tastes good, but extremely bland. Seems like it needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Excellent!! Will definitely save & repeat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Used only 1/4 cup olive oil and reduced the amount of parsley. I did not use the garlic of mint. Classical Israeli salad taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wonderful! A great mediteranean flare. A must have side for lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harvey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I did not enjoy this recipe. I don't think I am a fan of the parsley. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Bland and boring...yawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas-Grrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is a great salad with flavors that remind me of taboule...thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This will be my new potluck salad........my family really enjoyed this........i didnt have mint and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States