Israeli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This tasted like a salad from the deli across the corner.. There is absolutely no flavor here, none of the ingredients stands out.. First and last time i try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Added some feta cheese and it was much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Wonderful fresh flavors. I almost got up in the middle of the night to have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Definitely my summer favorite! I make this repeatedly for pool parties. Be sure to peel and seed the cucumbers. I cut the oil to 1/4 cup and that is plenty. I now omit the red pepper and use garlic salt instead of plain table salt due to personal preference. Very addictive and cooling when its hot outside. It makes a huge batch. I re-figured the calorie count and it is more like 55 calories per cup. Can't beat that for swimsuit weather!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I love this stuff, I reduced the garlic slightly and ate it on pitas with falafels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I followed some of the advice in other reviews and used just a little less parsley, mint and olive oil. I did use garlic infused oil, as I didn't have fresh garlic on hand.. results were the same....WONDERFUL ! Fresh, great taste... will make this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Delicious! This was devoured at the dinner table and I've been asked to make it anytime...I just excluded the mint as my family dosen't care for it. Looking forward to trying this with chicken wrapped in a pita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
i visited Israel in June and nearly every meal came with this type of salad, even breakfast! even so, i have made this many times and usually emulsify the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt & pepper and then drizzle that over the mixed veggies. blending it helps intensify the flavor IMHO. a tip i learned in Israel is to grate the lemon peel of the lemon used. again, the flavor is just kicked up a notch. nice if you like lemon as I do. (7/11) --so i made this and immediately ate a big bowl with a panzella cracker. just super fresh, clean flavors, delicious. i used persian cukes & followed recipe exactly. while licking the bowl it occured to me that chick peas and some feta would make it spectacular. and that second bowl was indeed. (oh yeah, fresh tomato was the only item i didn't have. i did have a can of muir glen diced toms but decided to wait until i put everything else together. honestly, i thot it was perfect w/o them. i only drizzled olive oil as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
The mint, parsley and green onion all try to trump each other. These do not compliment each other in the slightest. And if you take away the battle of the 'greens' everything else is incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
eh. tastes good, but extremely bland. Seems like it needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States