Israeli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
i visited Israel in June and nearly every meal came with this type of salad, even breakfast! even so, i have made this many times and usually emulsify the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt & pepper and then drizzle that over the mixed veggies. blending it helps intensify the flavor IMHO. a tip i learned in Israel is to grate the lemon peel of the lemon used. again, the flavor is just kicked up a notch. nice if you like lemon as I do. (7/11) --so i made this and immediately ate a big bowl with a panzella cracker. just super fresh, clean flavors, delicious. i used persian cukes & followed recipe exactly. while licking the bowl it occured to me that chick peas and some feta would make it spectacular. and that second bowl was indeed. (oh yeah, fresh tomato was the only item i didn't have. i did have a can of muir glen diced toms but decided to wait until i put everything else together. honestly, i thot it was perfect w/o them. i only drizzled olive oil as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I stuffed this into a pita picket. I am thinking that it would be easier to manage if it was rolled like you would a burrito, as the filling would fall out if you just rolled it pita style. This was really good! The only thing, the garlic was a bit much for us, so next time I will add garlic to taste! Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Yummy combination of flavors. I loved the parsley, mint and lemon - so simple. Took a lot more prep time than I imagined it would - lots of peeling and seeding and chopping. WAY too much olive oil. I would at least halve it and drizzle slowly till you get the consistency you want. Too much salt for my liking too so I will play with that. Nice and refreshing and will definately make again though!! Served in a pita pocket with some cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
So good! Don't make ahead though, I made the huge mistake of making this the night before and the dressing leached all the liquid out of the tomatoes and cucumbers and it was like soup. When it was fresh it was fabulous. If you want to do anything ahead of time, just keep the dressing separate and dress at the last minute. I should have known this, but I wasn't thinking. Definitely keep the mint, it gives a little something, you can't even tell it's mint, it just tastes herbal and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This a great salad. I added in shredded cabbage to add volume and crunch, and used only 3-5 graded garlics. I only used a drizzle of olive oil and added more lemon than the recipe calls for. I subbed dried mint for fresh and added in 1/4 of a chopped jalepeno. It was delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Mmm I loved the mix of flavors! My boyfriend had his in a pita with hummus and I kept mine as a salad, and we both enjoyed. I liked this because all the ingredients were things I already had in...yay for convenience! And deliciousness =) Thanks Maslow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was really good! Was surprised at the amount of cukes needed, but it ended up great! Substituted 3 Hot house for the roma. I served it with moussaka and a pumpkin bread loaf from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I've made this for years, usually for 4th of July or a late June family reunion and it's always a hit. The last few years I started adding in about a cup (2-3) mangoes, small-diced, and substituting the mint with cilantro. I like it this way even better as the sweetness of the mango goes perfectly with the acid of the lemon and astringent feature of the cucumbers. And I always make it the day before and then adjust seasoning a few hours before serving if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anni B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HmongMama
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Great recipe! Simple and delicious! I'd recommend less parsley and less mint leaves (unless you're crazy about them). It looked and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This salad is delicious, light and fresh. It has a tad too much garlic for our tastes and it makes too much. I will 1/2 the garlic and the overall recipe next time, but I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States