Israeli Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This was really good and different so it brought a fresh and tasty new dish to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Easy, excellent, low calorie stew. I dice the vegetables and increase the curry powder. I also use a can of diced tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce and deepen the flavor with chicken broth base. I have made this over and over-- it is a favorite staple at my house. My son's friend (from Morocco) ate half a batch at one sitting, and he was only 12!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was decent -- very bland and I even added extra curry, a little garam masala, and cayenne pepper. Its definitely authentic Moroccan, but I will add a lot more spice if I make it again. I'll also use a food processor because I have blisters from all the julienning. Anyway, a great basis for what could be a fantastic recipe in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Very bland, like a thoroughly unexciting stew. I'm happy to be finally finished with the leftovers. Maybe (just maybe) it would've been better if I put it on curried couscous like another reviewer, but I don't plan to make this again. Also, avoid julienning all those vegetables: it takes ages and neither adds to the flavor (in how they cook) nor adds to the appearance. (I still have blisters!) (This recipe might've just barely been three stars if not for this unnecessary work in the preparation.) Additionally, take the advice of another reviewer and cut the potatoes into larger pieces; if you julienne them they'll dissolve during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I found this a bit lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
We loved this recipe. It's good for you and has great delicate flavors. I didn't have any saffron, so I skipped that and upped the curry powder to 1/4 tsp. Other than that I made exactly as written and really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This was very tasty. Took a while to julienne all the vegetables, but otherwise very easy to make. Next i'm using my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
It's easy, it's beautiful, but my goodness is it bland! I've eaten couscous in Paris, too, and this ain't it. I made the recipe precisely as written, too. I think the cook who used curried couscous had her thinking cap on. Anyway, I hate to be the one to blow the 5-star record, but I know I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Really delicious. I used all the recommended vegetables, plus some small Russett potatoes. I also used curried couscous from a package, which really added something I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Thanks for this wonderful recipe! I didn't have any zuchinni or red peppers - but even without them it was great. Took it for lunch all week! I can see how zuchinni will add a perfect flavor to the mix and the peppers good texture. I can't wait to make it again when I have all the right veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States