Israeli Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah M
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is one of my new favourite recipes. It's a fairly easy recipe but it is time consuming so it's a weekend dinner for sure. It is absolutely delicious and filling as well. I left out turnips (I didn't have any and I'm not a big fan anyway). I also changed the spices a little, after reading some of the other reviews. I used cumin instead of cinnamon and left out the saffron and ended up increasing the amounts a little (not sure by how much, started with recipe amount and increased to taste). Instead of plain couscous, I served it over the sweet and nutty Moroccan couscous (which I also got from this site) and the whole meal was fantastic! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Really bland despite being very generous with the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This recipe is great as is:) loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I crave this dish come winter. I chop everything up in chunks for faster preparation (requires a little longer cooking time) and also add tomato paste to thicken. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was good, but the spices need to be ampped up several notches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was outstanding with garam masala and didn't use cinnamon but used cumin and coriander, more algerian, I guess? I really enjoyed this with the couscous. My spouse wanted chicken so I added some the second night. Made a whole lot so we had it for a couple of days. Also used chicken broth since I don't really like the 'thinness' of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
A couple changes to this recipe. I used a 15 oz can of turnips/greens instead of fresh and added it at the end. Also, next time I would use half the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m8knf8ces

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Healing food. I add more curry about 3/4 tablespoon - but add is gradually, and taste until you have your level correct. Also I add a little cayenne pepper to give it some zing. I also use all organic ingredients, incl the cous-cous. This is a healing food if you do that. Remember to use bottled spring water also when adding water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I think it's just a matter of personal taste but this was not good. I couldn't take the cinnamon flavor, it ruined the dish for us and the combination of spices and veggies just didn't work out liked I'd hoped it would. Also, I don't know if the veggies were supposed to be mushy (which they were) but we like a firmer texture and I had cubed them. We're vegetarians and I'm always on the hunt for new recipes but I will not be making this again as I'm the only one who could eat a bowl. Btw it makes a huge amount! Not sure what to do with all of it now. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Nothing special here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States