Israeli Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah M
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is one of my new favourite recipes. It's a fairly easy recipe but it is time consuming so it's a weekend dinner for sure. It is absolutely delicious and filling as well. I left out turnips (I didn't have any and I'm not a big fan anyway). I also changed the spices a little, after reading some of the other reviews. I used cumin instead of cinnamon and left out the saffron and ended up increasing the amounts a little (not sure by how much, started with recipe amount and increased to taste). Instead of plain couscous, I served it over the sweet and nutty Moroccan couscous (which I also got from this site) and the whole meal was fantastic! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Really bland despite being very generous with the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This recipe is great as is:) loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I crave this dish come winter. I chop everything up in chunks for faster preparation (requires a little longer cooking time) and also add tomato paste to thicken. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was good, but the spices need to be ampped up several notches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was outstanding with garam masala and didn't use cinnamon but used cumin and coriander, more algerian, I guess? I really enjoyed this with the couscous. My spouse wanted chicken so I added some the second night. Made a whole lot so we had it for a couple of days. Also used chicken broth since I don't really like the 'thinness' of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
A couple changes to this recipe. I used a 15 oz can of turnips/greens instead of fresh and added it at the end. Also, next time I would use half the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m8knf8ces

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Healing food. I add more curry about 3/4 tablespoon - but add is gradually, and taste until you have your level correct. Also I add a little cayenne pepper to give it some zing. I also use all organic ingredients, incl the cous-cous. This is a healing food if you do that. Remember to use bottled spring water also when adding water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I think it's just a matter of personal taste but this was not good. I couldn't take the cinnamon flavor, it ruined the dish for us and the combination of spices and veggies just didn't work out liked I'd hoped it would. Also, I don't know if the veggies were supposed to be mushy (which they were) but we like a firmer texture and I had cubed them. We're vegetarians and I'm always on the hunt for new recipes but I will not be making this again as I'm the only one who could eat a bowl. Btw it makes a huge amount! Not sure what to do with all of it now. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Nothing special here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States