Isolde's German Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
like in germany and i should know then i am from germany
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clarkmtc
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Amazing. I was stationed in Germany for 13 years and I loved this quark based cake, but until today, never tried (dared) make it for myself. Well, the spirit moved me and I decided to go for it on my own. I followed this recipe to the letter and I give it 5 stars, easily. The flavor is fantastic, the texture is moist, the lemon taste s faint, yet gives it the little tart taste you expect, without having to grate a lemon peel into the batter. Like others have mentioned here however, 60 minutes was definitely not enough at 350 degrees, not at all. Mine took a good 80-90 minutes to firm up before I pulled it out. other than adjusting the cook time, this recipe is perfect. I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarkmtc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Have not tried the recipe yet, but it reads about right. I am from Germany and bake a traditional german cheesecake almost three times a month. My husband just loves his cheesecake. You all know that it is very easy to make Quark at home, right? All you need is milk and some cultures an oven and a cheese cloth, if you want to make a big batch at once, or buttermilk and a yogurt maker for a small batch. I recommend the milk and the cultures, turns out just like store bought in Germany, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I've made this cake yesterday and it came out perfect! Thank you for sharing this recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUIYA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Los Banos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I am not a big cheesecake person but this defiantly is one of my favorite things to make, and eat. It is great for parties of just for fun. If you cannot find any quark use greek yogurt because it has the same frequency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
So amazing, completely authentic! Don't be concerned if it seems watery, it will thicken. Also, I didn't use a springform pan, and it turned out fine. However I would suggest a springform pan. Don't listen to reviews of those that used cream cheese, Unfair to rate something poorly because you used completely different ingredients! Lastly, if there is not a German deli near you, these ingredients can be purchased from Germandeli.com ; also if you are feeling adventurous - make your own quark cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thegreengirls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Wonderful! Good German cheesecake. It is lighter than others I have had. Find and use quark for this recipe! It is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This recipe was very good(tasted just like the German Cheesecake I remember when I lived in Germany). It was very easy to make and I was fortunate to find a dairy close to home that provided me with the Quark cheese that was needed. After tasting the Quark cheese I don't feel that you can substitute with anything else if you are going for authentic. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
quark in german is curd in english!can get in in the grocery store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ekaterina
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Because the dough has so much butter in it it´s not necessary to grease the springform. And if you don´t have vanilla pudding mix just put cornstarch instead, little less the weight of pudding mix, and increase the amount of vanilla sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ekaterina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States