Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I really liked this dish even though the rice - simply and delicious. Even though the rice was nowhere close to "fried" (it was more like a sticky rice bunch), I still enjoyed the flavor. Keep in mind that this is island style, so the flavor is supposed to be subtle, not like the Indian rice dishes. We used a type of Vietnamese sausage (because that's the closest I could find in our Asian market) and increased the amount, added slightly more pineapple and a little bit pineapple juice (maybe that's why it didn't fry). I found the amount of oyster sauce to be all right, but my husband added more because he's used to more spiced dishes (I think he abused his taste buds to the point that he needs more to stimulate normal senses lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angeline
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
My husband and I have made this recipe twice now. We both like the recipe, but had to make the following revisions for this to be 4 star-worthy. Added fresh chopped garlic in addition to the garlic powder. Also added chopped yellow onions to give it some texture. Excluded the pineapple because we've never seen restaurants in Hawaii use pineapple in their fried rice, ever (yes, we ate at all the hidden gems/local spots, not the touristy places). Only used 1 tablespoon of oyster sauce. Anyone who has cooked with oyster sauce or is familiar with it knows how salty it is. 3 tablespoons sounded like way too much, so we used 2 tablespoons our first try; the leftovers next day were almost inedible. Cut down to 1 tablespoon this time around and it made all the difference. Used Spam Less Sodium instead of regular Spam to balance the saltiness of the oyster sauce. Added nori fumi (seaweed) furikake rice topping on the rice, just like they do with poke bowls. My husband and I both agree that this topping adds a whole new level of complexity to the fried rice. We insist that you try it! Overall, this is a good starting point with room to improvise. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vhui
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I made it with the leftover holiday ham instead of spam. I also had leftover pineapple and cherries which was used to drizzle the ham, so I just picked out the pineapples to us for the fried rice. The Chinese makes this dish delicious!!! :-) Thank you for the recipe, chen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I love this dish. I didn't have pineapple but I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. Definitely a keeper. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Murrile
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I found this recipe here on Allrecipes a few years ago and made it for the first time. It was to die for. I remembered how great it was the other day and made it again last night.. It really brought me back. An explosion of great taste; the sweet pineapple and salted meat! I have never made mine with the Chinese sausage. I used a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks and cut each chunk into thirds. I cut the luncheon meat into pieces about as big as the cut pineapple pieces. I added about 1 tsp of garlic powder while frying the rice in the oil. I cooked everything together in the end for a minute which cooked the green onion perfectly. This recipe is definitely a keeper for years to come. Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Murrile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I love fried rice so I decided to try this and it tastes so yummy. I didn't follow the directions though, I added the beaten eggs with the rice in the pan. I used sweet soy sauce instead of the oyster because I didn't have any and I used half of the amount of pineapples because I didn't want that much in my rice. Still yummy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was very good but I had to make a few changes based on what I had. I used white rice instead of jasmine. I used smoked sausage because it was all I had on hand. I also used half pineapple juice and half soy sauce in place of the oyster sauce. It was yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Did not care for this at all. Followed recipe specifications to the letter with the exception of using turkey spam instead of regular and using a version of the sausage called for made with chicken instead of pork, simply because I don't eat beef or pork. The pineapple is very faint - if you want to be sure to detect it, I recommend using a large can & even consider throwing some of the juice in with the rice as it cooks. The only bites that tasted kind of ok to me were those that contained at least a bit of the green onion - provided a nice little burst of freshness so if you're going to try this definitely don't skip the green onion, maybe even add more than called for. Looked interesting and the reviews were generally good so I decided to give it a try - glad I did but definitely won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Tried this tonight with very few modifications. Didn't have the Chinese sausage. Increased the eggs to 5, doubled the pineapple and used more green onions. Used the "lite" Spam, as that was what we had. FABULOUS. My son and I agreed that this recipe is a total keeper. It would have been nice if there were leftovers -- there were not. We were both hungry and we devoured the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very good! I ended up frying the SPAM until it was crispy, which added to the flavor. I also forgot the green onion, but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States