Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Stephanie Murrile
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I found this recipe here on Allrecipes a few years ago and made it for the first time. It was to die for. I remembered how great it was the other day and made it again last night.. It really brought me back. An explosion of great taste; the sweet pineapple and salted meat! I have never made mine with the Chinese sausage. I used a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks and cut each chunk into thirds. I cut the luncheon meat into pieces about as big as the cut pineapple pieces. I added about 1 tsp of garlic powder while frying the rice in the oil. I cooked everything together in the end for a minute which cooked the green onion perfectly. This recipe is definitely a keeper for years to come. Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Murrile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I love fried rice so I decided to try this and it tastes so yummy. I didn't follow the directions though, I added the beaten eggs with the rice in the pan. I used sweet soy sauce instead of the oyster because I didn't have any and I used half of the amount of pineapples because I didn't want that much in my rice. Still yummy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was very good but I had to make a few changes based on what I had. I used white rice instead of jasmine. I used smoked sausage because it was all I had on hand. I also used half pineapple juice and half soy sauce in place of the oyster sauce. It was yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Did not care for this at all. Followed recipe specifications to the letter with the exception of using turkey spam instead of regular and using a version of the sausage called for made with chicken instead of pork, simply because I don't eat beef or pork. The pineapple is very faint - if you want to be sure to detect it, I recommend using a large can & even consider throwing some of the juice in with the rice as it cooks. The only bites that tasted kind of ok to me were those that contained at least a bit of the green onion - provided a nice little burst of freshness so if you're going to try this definitely don't skip the green onion, maybe even add more than called for. Looked interesting and the reviews were generally good so I decided to give it a try - glad I did but definitely won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Tried this tonight with very few modifications. Didn't have the Chinese sausage. Increased the eggs to 5, doubled the pineapple and used more green onions. Used the "lite" Spam, as that was what we had. FABULOUS. My son and I agreed that this recipe is a total keeper. It would have been nice if there were leftovers -- there were not. We were both hungry and we devoured the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very good! I ended up frying the SPAM until it was crispy, which added to the flavor. I also forgot the green onion, but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I live in the south so we will eat rice for any meal. I made for breakfast and it was delicious. I omitted the pineapples and added diced onions and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homer, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Delicious!!! My husband went crazy over this!! I followed the recipe exactly- I just left out the pork sausage and stuck with spam ;) we'll be making this often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I think this recipe has potential. I think next time I may marinate the chicken in the curry sauce for a while before cooking it, also may add more curry as I thought it lacked a little in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marystown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes to cook anytime I have left over rice. The key to great fried rice is to use two or three day old rice! Whenever I use fresh rice for fried rice dishes it always seems to turn out so mushy. I think using old rice is best because it has dried out a bit while sitting in the fridge so when you cook it the rice remains in individual grains rather than lumping together. Also, I have never had SPAM before this dish and loved it! The saltiness from the SPAM and the sweetness from the pineapple really mesh well. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States