Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very good! I ended up frying the SPAM until it was crispy, which added to the flavor. I also forgot the green onion, but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I live in the south so we will eat rice for any meal. I made for breakfast and it was delicious. I omitted the pineapples and added diced onions and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homer, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Delicious!!! My husband went crazy over this!! I followed the recipe exactly- I just left out the pork sausage and stuck with spam ;) we'll be making this often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I think this recipe has potential. I think next time I may marinate the chicken in the curry sauce for a while before cooking it, also may add more curry as I thought it lacked a little in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marystown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes to cook anytime I have left over rice. The key to great fried rice is to use two or three day old rice! Whenever I use fresh rice for fried rice dishes it always seems to turn out so mushy. I think using old rice is best because it has dried out a bit while sitting in the fridge so when you cook it the rice remains in individual grains rather than lumping together. Also, I have never had SPAM before this dish and loved it! The saltiness from the SPAM and the sweetness from the pineapple really mesh well. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Made this last night following the directions with only a few changes. I used a 20oz can of pineapple, swapped summer sausage for the Chinese sausage(quartered and sliced thin), and half of a sweet onion for green onions (what I had on hand). It turned out excellent! I cooked the sausage and spam together until they were almost done then added the onion and cooked until translucent. When I make it again I will only double the pineapple, it was just a bit too much for me but the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
coming from someone who isn't big into sweet this was wonderful and a great way to use up some leftovers! halved the recipe and used leftover roasted pork in lieu of the spam and chinese sausage.. added some leftover grilled green bell pepper.. used leftover rice.. one whole egg.. 4 oz of canned pineapple rings that i chopped up.. fried the green onion instead of using it as garnish as rasmasass suggested.. since there was no exact measurement i too just sprinkled some garlic powder over the rice as it was heating up along with a light sprinkle of cayenne.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
yum. delicious. if u like fried rice you're gonna like this. i made it as directed. turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
We made it for a family gathering and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is recipe is amazing! It always leaves me hungry for more! I did not use oyster sauce or pork sausage but it still deserves 5 stars! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovebaking!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States