Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Really easy dish that is so good. I used leftover rice (i freeze white rice when i make a ton and put it in ziploc bags. just pop it in the microwave for a minute and instant rice) and used the pineapple juice from the canned pineapple to mix with soy sauce instead of hoisin (didn't have any). just really really good dish! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is delicious! I used leftover rice, a ground pork sausage in lieu of Chinese sausag,e and SPAM lite because that's what I had on hand. Followed the recipe otherwise. My husband loved this. I will defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Made this for the first time last night and it was a hit at the party. I omitted the sausage all together. Used only SPAM Lite. Reserved pineapple juice to use equal juice and teriyaki sauce in place of oyster sauce. Reduced eggs to just 2. Added some crushed garlic to hot oil before adding rice to fry. Did this because when reading directions it said to add garlic powder however I did not see this on the ingredients list. Lastly, sliced pineapple chunks into thin slices. This is a great recipe. I am surprised it has not been reviewed more. Was asked to share the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very good! Have made this twice now, everyone loved it both times. Still haven't found Chinese Sweet Pork Sausage - so I used honey garlic ones instead. I don't know what I'm missing - is it possible this can get even better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I knew when i came across this recipe that i would love it and this definitely did not disappoint. Spam and rice goes so well together...and the oyster sauce, YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was fabulous. I loved the play on sweet and salty. Yes, I did have to make changes, but they were minor. I left out the chinese sausage, only because i was too lazy to schlep downtown to the asian market, and I used tidbit pineapple, instead of chunk, because that's what I like. Everything else was exactly the same. If forced to make any changes to the original (other than the ones I already made, HA!), I would use a big can of pinapple, instead of the small...I really enjoyed coming across those little sweet pieces, and wished there were more. Thank you so much for the recipe, I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
5 STARS! This dish was the talk of the Luah party I just attended. People I didn't even know were pointing and saying "That's the Rice Lady". By the end of the night I was being called the "RICE QUEEN"! I had never made this before the day of the party.....Lucky me! I got the sausage from a local phillipine grocery store and used 2 reg size cans of tidbit pinapple instead of one and light SPAM. Held well in crock pot on low. Don't skimp on regular rice definatly use the Jasmine rice! YUMMY!!! Must Try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
So onolicious!!!!!!!!!! Yummy this is what we call local kine grindz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
That Island girl can really cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States