Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Easy and very very good. I don't add the Spam to it though. I make with the Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker and both go well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very Good!!! Mak sure you fry the rice until crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Nichols Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
We live in Hawaii and there is nothing more authentic than mixing in SPAM and Lup cheong. My husband loved the sweetness of the pineapple and said it was the best fried rice I had made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is a favorite at our house. I make the following changes, but it remains pretty true to form. 1. Cook rice in rice cooker & spread on greased cookie sheet to room temperature. 2. Omit sausage (just too much meat for our taste) 3. Use fresh pineapple when available...ammmmazing! 4. Use about 2 tbsp oyster sauce and 1 tbsp soy sauce. Highly recommend! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEIRDRE7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I had fried rice in Hawaii and tried to recreate it. This recipes was so close to the one I had at the resort. I didn't realize I was forgetting the oyster sauce and SPAM. These ingredients make the rice taste so authentic. I made a few changes to recreat the flavor of the resort rice - omitted the pineapple, and added 5 cloves of roughly minced garlic (the one I had was VERY garlicky. I definately suggest NOT substituting the Chinese sausage - it makes such a difference in the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HockeyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I just made this for a party this last weekend and had to make 2 double batches(I have a big wok)! I was unable to find the chinese sausage and was leery of spam so I cubed 2 raw ham steaks instead. I browned the ham a bit after cubing it and it worked out great. I also added 1/3 cup white sugar, 2 Tblspns honey, 2 tsp ground ginger, 1/4 Cup soy sauce, 2 Tblspns toasted sesame oil and cut 1 fresh pineapple into cubes. Remember, I doubled the recipe, so the amount is not exessive. The dish was such a hit that even the second batch couldn't satisfy everyones appetite for more. Chen, you're an angel. Thanks for making me the hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stiritup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Whole family loved! -- Cooked the spam really well as the texture is too mushy unless made near-crunchy, and had to eliminate the chinese sausage as the local chinese market was out that day. still wonderful -- the measures for garlic powder? had to wing it and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I can't give it all 5 stars since I don't make it with spam--I use cubes of ham, or BBQ pork--or the sausage. I have also added shredded cabbage and carrots to get some extra veggies in there to make it a one dish meal. Very tasty and fast (I make the rice the day before for best results otherwise it comes out mushy and sticky).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Even though my guests enjoyed the dish, I was disappointed in it. First off, the jasmine rice came out very sticky, more like sushi rice. When frying the cooked rice in the canola oil, it never toasted. Second, although I doubled the amount of pineapple I found the dish to be lacking in flavor. I ended up putting soy sauce on the table for anyone wanting to add more flavor. Sorry because I was really looking forward to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States