Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very good. Used leftover rice, SPAM lite, no sausage, fresh pineapple and sadly, had no GF Oyster sauce, so subbed GF soy sauce, sriracha and a little honey. Added some peas for a veg. Was a little dry, but I blame the pineapple, no juice. Plus, as the entire SPAM-eating world knows, SPAM has to be cooked crispy. Will for sure make again, after I cook up some GF Oyster sauce. Will be super with that and canned pineapple with juice, plus mixed veg and double the onion! Thanks, Chen, for an easy complete meal. It's a winner, and so easy to tweak to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I couldn't find the sausage so I used Spanish chorizo it was good too I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was great! I had some cooked Jasmine rice to use up and this sounded yummy. I got all excited reading the ingredients that I totally skipped reading the directions and basically tossed everything in the frying pan. Regardless, it turned out great, despite not having sausage or oyster sauce. I added a bit of salt but other than that I used what was on the list. It was great! Thanks for this recipe, I'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
We loved it - followed the recipe as written. Next time I'll make a few changes but I do like to follow a recipe as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Easy and very very good. I don't add the Spam to it though. I make with the Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker and both go well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very Good!!! Mak sure you fry the rice until crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
We live in Hawaii and there is nothing more authentic than mixing in SPAM and Lup cheong. My husband loved the sweetness of the pineapple and said it was the best fried rice I had made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is a favorite at our house. I make the following changes, but it remains pretty true to form. 1. Cook rice in rice cooker & spread on greased cookie sheet to room temperature. 2. Omit sausage (just too much meat for our taste) 3. Use fresh pineapple when available...ammmmazing! 4. Use about 2 tbsp oyster sauce and 1 tbsp soy sauce. Highly recommend! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEIRDRE7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I had fried rice in Hawaii and tried to recreate it. This recipes was so close to the one I had at the resort. I didn't realize I was forgetting the oyster sauce and SPAM. These ingredients make the rice taste so authentic. I made a few changes to recreat the flavor of the resort rice - omitted the pineapple, and added 5 cloves of roughly minced garlic (the one I had was VERY garlicky. I definately suggest NOT substituting the Chinese sausage - it makes such a difference in the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HockeyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States