Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is an AWESOME recipe. I love the play on sweet and salty. You should definitely use SPAM. I used the low sodium kind. For pineapple, I used pineapple tidbits which was the perfect size for a perfect bite. For additional flavor and color, I added frozen peas and corn at the end of the rice. Everyone loves this rice recipe and can't believe SPAM was in it. (I didn't tell them SPAM was in the recipe because most people would not have tried it.) If you haven't given SPAM a try, you should. Also, you should use the oyster sauce. It does not give a fishy taste at all. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It's a definitely a family and guest favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I had a diner party for my husbands B`day and I made this dish!! I got soo many compliments. people loved it. I didnt use the sausage or oyster sauce. instead, I put in cooked beef and teriyaky sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is a very tasty dish! I cooked the eggs into an omelet, using a small amount of oil. I then rolled it up like a burrito, sliced it into small strips and set it aside. I cooked both the spam and lup cheong in the skillet without the 2 tsp. of oil. Once the sausages were rendered I added the cold rice using the grease from the spam and sausages to coat the rice. I added one garlic clove, chopped, in place of the garlic powder, thou the garlic powder wasn’t listed as an ingredient called for in this recipe. I stirred everything then added the oyster sauce, Hawaiian sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. I added the pineapple bits and eggs and stirred to combine well. I sprinkled with some chopped green onions. I could see the pineapples bits, chopped spam, lup cheong and specks of green onions throughout the fried rice. There is a nice sweetness from pineapple bits and saltiness from oyster sauce and sausages. A nice change from plain ole’ white rice with a tasty blend of flavors. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This rice was excellent!! The only changes I made was to use ham instead of SPAM and to use a sweet sausage meat instead of the Chinese sweet sausage. The rice was so tasty and I can not wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We were doing a Hawaiian-themed lunch at work and I picked this recipe because not only did it look good, it seemed like it would be easy and quick enough to do on a week night. I found some sweet pork sausage at the Asian Market - it wasn't called lup cheong, but I think it was the Filipino version of the same thing. It didn't slice well, so I squeezed it out of the casing and it worked fine. I cooked the rice a day ahead, so that it would be cool and ready to go. I read all of the comments and used a 20-oz can of pineapple tidbits. I cut the SPAM in very small pieces (not much experience with it, and kinda grossed out by it) and fried it and the sausage until very crisp. I also fried the rice quite a bit longer than the recipe said so it would also be crispy. The next day, I stirred in the green onions right before I nuked the rice. I have to say, despite my trepidation over SPAM, that it was very, VERY tasty, and was the hit of the potluck! There was not a single grain of rice left, and everyone, bar none, asked me for the recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUBEENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
A yummy alternative to traditional fried rice. I used portuguese sausage, diced ham, and spam. I also added some leftover pineapple juice to the mix toward the end of cooking. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This rice did NOT fry to brown no matter how long cooked it...jasmine rice is too sticky. I wasn't wild about the flavors here either...hubby liked it more than I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very good. Used leftover rice, SPAM lite, no sausage, fresh pineapple and sadly, had no GF Oyster sauce, so subbed GF soy sauce, sriracha and a little honey. Added some peas for a veg. Was a little dry, but I blame the pineapple, no juice. Plus, as the entire SPAM-eating world knows, SPAM has to be cooked crispy. Will for sure make again, after I cook up some GF Oyster sauce. Will be super with that and canned pineapple with juice, plus mixed veg and double the onion! Thanks, Chen, for an easy complete meal. It's a winner, and so easy to tweak to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I couldn't find the sausage so I used Spanish chorizo it was good too I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States