Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This meal was a big hit. I did not tell my husband that I made a variation on our regular pork/chicken fried rice. He started eating, stopped and said, "Is there pineapple in here?" and when I told him it was an island variation he said, "This is delicious." Now, I did eyeball the ingredients and ended up adding way more pineapple than stated- loved it that way. Also, I used regular cubed ham since we are not a fan of the Spam variety. As for the rice, I always make it an hour or two before dinner and stick it in the freezer so it is nice and cold when I need it. That way, it doesn't get mushy. Hope this helps. Thank you for the recipe, chen! It will most definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I used Spam Lite, and left out the sausage. I sauteed two teaspoons of minced garlic in the oil before adding the Spam. I also sauteed the thicker pieces of green onion, and added the lighter green top pieces at the end. The pineapple juice & teriyaki sauce substitution that others suggested was great (my husband is not a fish fan). Pearl rice tastes great in this! I'm not much of a cook, but this was easy and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Just took my first bite and heck yeah! I didnt have any oyster sauce so I used hoisin instead. It made perfect sence anyway since its like an asian bbq sauce and pork (Spam) and bbq sauce go hand to hand anyways. I finally found something new to bring to the table thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I also left off the sausage because I didn't have time to get it. Brought it for a luau potluck at work and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is so yummy! I made it for my husband's Luau party. I skipped the oyster sauce and added soy sauce instead. It was the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
So good! I used real ham cut into chunks as I don't like Spam. Great accompaniment to my beef stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was so good and super easy. I did not have spam or the other meat on the list. I did have some left over sausage. I cut it up into small pieces and it worked great in a pinch.I served with Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs from this site and black beans. Yummy will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
My family loves this recipe. If I plan on making it I make A LOT and it still gets eaten up in a day or two. I use crushed pineapple bc I don't really like to bite into chunks of pineapple. I also like fry some garlic, ginger, and whole star anise with the luncheon meat and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Loved this! Served it to the whole family on our Cayman Island vacation after one of the kids requested fried rice. It was a huge hit! Subbed soy for oyster sauce and used a smoked sausage. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made this for a luau dinner party kind of on a flook. I wanted to have something to incorporate spam into my theme. It was the hit of the party. I did leave out the chinese sausage because I couldn't find it. I wish I could say how good it was, but it was all gone before I got a chance to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States