Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
yum. delicious. if u like fried rice you're gonna like this. i made it as directed. turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
We made it for a family gathering and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is recipe is amazing! It always leaves me hungry for more! I did not use oyster sauce or pork sausage but it still deserves 5 stars! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovebaking!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I just made this and am eating it as I type. and I HATE rice! SO Very good. I didn't have all the right ingredients but most or similar. I didn't have the sausage and no one in my house likes pineapples so I used about a 1/4 or less of a cup of sweet and sour sauce and canned ham. My boys will be home for lunch soon and I know they will love this too. Delicious, Thanks for the entry, I love AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Loved this fried rice recipe, perfect with our Hawaiian grilled shrimp. I had some bacon to use up, so I subbed that for the Spam and sausage. I aslo added some peas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Im eating this island fried rice and giving the comment here too...this is a great and i added some black pepper before serve. Im sure I will make it again. Thanks for the recipies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Sweeting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Mixed reviews here. I like that it is different from standard fried rice. My husband thought this was o.k., but I wasn’t real crazy about it. At first, the oyster sauce gave it an overwhelming fishy taste and smell. We had a ton left over and when reheated as a leftover, it had a much better flavor and kind of grew on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I tweaked this recipe quite a bit, but loved it! I cut out the spam and meat entirely, (as I was preparing it to be served with sweet pineapple chicken meatballs), I only used two eggs, and I took some one else's suggestion, and rather than oyster sauce, used half and half, pineapple juice and teryiaki sauce. I sauteed in diced red pepper while I cooked the eggs, and about a minute before I took the eggs out of the pan, tossed i the pineapple and green onion, so that they weren't added in completely raw. The base of this recipe is awesome!! I will most def be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Really loved this recipe! I added diced red peppers & baby peas because my husband & I like a lot of vegetables. Also, used brown rice & a thick slice of deli ham instead of SPAM (don't really care for SPAM). This recipe is definitely a keeper. Next time I'm going to try it with cruched pineapple instead of chunks. The chunks are a little too big with all the other ingredients being diced. I agree with one of the other reviews, I'm not quite sure why more people haven't tried this. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New York, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This meal was a big hit. I did not tell my husband that I made a variation on our regular pork/chicken fried rice. He started eating, stopped and said, "Is there pineapple in here?" and when I told him it was an island variation he said, "This is delicious." Now, I did eyeball the ingredients and ended up adding way more pineapple than stated- loved it that way. Also, I used regular cubed ham since we are not a fan of the Spam variety. As for the rice, I always make it an hour or two before dinner and stick it in the freezer so it is nice and cold when I need it. That way, it doesn't get mushy. Hope this helps. Thank you for the recipe, chen! It will most definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States