Island Shrimp and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Very good recipe reminds me of a gumbo just not as spicy. Make it about once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Farren
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Made as directed with addition of garlic, and used Italian style diced tomatoes. Thought it was great and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I just made this recipe for dinner with friends and it turned out wonderfully! Rave reviews. Will make this again and again! The only comment is that, because of previous reviews, I cut the cayenne pepper in half. I would have been that much better if I had left it. With the full amount, it would have been just as hot as the medium salsa we get. Fantastic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and it was very good. I did add oregano, garlic and a bay leaf as suggested by one of the reviews but also used the ingredients listed in the recipe. I also used Rotel tomatoes. Mine did not look like the picture above , my rice reminded me of brown rice. Next time I may cook my rice separate and serve on the side with the shrimp mixture. I also used smoked thick sliced bacon which adds such a good flavor. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
We loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I omitted the heat and subbed lime juice for lemon and A1 for the Worcestershire sauce. It still tasted awesome and this is a new favorite for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I did not use the cayenne pepper because I have small children to feed. This was very good and the whole family ate it. I used prawns that still had the shell on and then took the shell off right before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I made this Recipe for my husband and a few friends and they absolutely loved it. the only thing i would add is more cayenne pepper my husband and i love it spicy! but other than that it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
OMG!! one of the best recipes ever!!! This is a very simple but very flavorfull recipe! I usually dont like to change the origional recipe, but I saw one of the reviews and they used Rotel instead of regular diced tomatoes, well I love Rotel so I used them and one other change was that I didnt have any regular bacon, but I did have some Hungarian bacon! Let me tell You! If You can find some, get it! It adds a sweetness to the recipe that is awesome! My wife found it a bit HOT because of the Cayenne, but I thought it was perfect! Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Palace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This recipe is fun with a kick of spicy. Not only was it easy to make but it took very little time to prep and cook. Just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States