Island Shrimp and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I make a lot of recipes from AR. Every few months or so I come across a recipe that really wows me and goes into my list of favorites. This is one of those recipes! The sauce is so amazing. Perfect with rice and some french bread to sop up the rest. I prefer to always cook my rice in the rice cooker. For the shrimp/sauce mixture only use 1.5 cups of broth if not adding rice. You can then thicken the sauce if needed with corn startch. Also, I'm so glad I had my hubs run to the store for bacon. I don't really like nutmeg but 1/4tsp. taste just fine in this. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe was excellent. Great Flavor. I did however make a few adjustments only because I didn't have the exact ingridients on hand. I used Rice-a-Roni Long Grain Wild Rice with 1/2 cup of brown Rice(I din't have enough regular brwn rice) I also used a can of Rotel instead of reg. Diced tomatoes. I also added fresh mushrooms and garlic with the onions! Great Flavor, everyone loved it and it wasn't too spicy for the kids! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is a delightful recipe that I will certainly make again. At first I didn’t understand the use of the bacon but, as you enjoy the meal, your palette surely will! I recommend making it “as is” the fist time. It’s got just the right amount of spice. Thank you, Principal Cole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I made this recipe with a few changes. I added Rotel tomatoes instead of regular canned tomatoes. I also added oregano, garlic, and bay leaves. It was delicious. Thanks for sharing this good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Arlington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Easy to make - delicious. My wife wanted to have leftovers for main meal next day rather than planned meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Love this recipe! I make it all the time. I don't change a thing, except use less shrimp to save a few cents and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My whole family really enjoyed this dish. I only made two changes: 1) I didn't have any Cayenne pepper, so I sprinkled in some crushed red pepper flakes and 2) I always use minute rice in my cooking, so I made it seperate in the microwave, then added it to the pot when the recipe calls for the other rice. It turned out great! No sticky rice. My family wants me to make this again, so it is a keeper. Thanks for sharing. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
this is one of my most favorite recipes. It's so easy. I use bell peppers in almost everything. Definitely add them if they need to get used up. I always use mild Rotel when making this dish, and then just a *pinch* of cayenne pepper, trust me. It will be spicy enough. Last time I made this I added cilantro and chopped fresh mushrooms. So yummy & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Thanks a lot! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States