Island Shrimp and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I served this last night, and it was pretty good, if a little bland. Perhaps the addition of chopped red pepper or more cayenne would liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I made this recipe with a few changes. I added Rotel tomatoes instead of regular canned tomatoes. I also added oregano, garlic, and bay leaves. It was delicious. Thanks for sharing this good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Arlington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This recipe was excellent as is, however it could have other things added to it. I found it to be quick and easy and was also easy to cut in half as there are only two in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Did this recipe like written except my sis can't stand heat so i omitted the cayene and added tsp minced garlic. Also, Since I had shrimp shells, I cooked them to make a shrimp broth, I substituted 1/4 cup chicken stock for shrimp. For those of you that felt it was bland, I would guess you used can chicken stock. I had made my chicken stock the day before and it (as well as the dish) had great flavor. Even though I stopped after I put in the bacon and second batch of stock, took the pot to my sister's (10min away), then added the shrimp and heated through till they were cooked, it still came out great. Thanks for a keeper oh, and the bacon does make it but so does homeade chicken/shrimp stock :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Easy to make - delicious. My wife wanted to have leftovers for main meal next day rather than planned meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Now, it can be a bit spicy, so I usually start with half of the cayenne called for and go from there. I also use an extra half pound of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stokesdale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe was excellent. Great Flavor. I did however make a few adjustments only because I didn't have the exact ingridients on hand. I used Rice-a-Roni Long Grain Wild Rice with 1/2 cup of brown Rice(I din't have enough regular brwn rice) I also used a can of Rotel instead of reg. Diced tomatoes. I also added fresh mushrooms and garlic with the onions! Great Flavor, everyone loved it and it wasn't too spicy for the kids! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Was not impressed with this recipe. After reading other's reviews, I had the impression that this dish was not very spicy, but it was was too spicy for us. Also, even though the recipe didn't say to rinse the rice, I always do, and it still came out gummy and sticky. We ended up picking the shrimp out of the rice and eating them. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is a delightful recipe that I will certainly make again. At first I didn’t understand the use of the bacon but, as you enjoy the meal, your palette surely will! I recommend making it “as is” the fist time. It’s got just the right amount of spice. Thank you, Principal Cole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States