Island Shrimp and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Love this recipe! I make it all the time. I don't change a thing, except use less shrimp to save a few cents and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was so tasty! My only problem with the recipe is that the rice overcooked. Most white rice is done at 20 minutes. Here are some changes I had to make due to what I had. No broth, just water, added 1/4 can tomato sauce 2 whole chopped tomatoes, hot sauce, dash of garlic powder, and Old Bay seasoning!.. It was spicy but delicious!.. I will try to figure out the rice problem because I want to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Very good and very easy to make. I cut down on the nutmeg just a tad and doubled the cayenne (we like it spicy) and it was perfect. Also, my rice had absorbed all of the liquid and had begun to stick after about 15-17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is a delightful recipe that I will certainly make again. At first I didn’t understand the use of the bacon but, as you enjoy the meal, your palette surely will! I recommend making it “as is” the fist time. It’s got just the right amount of spice. Thank you, Principal Cole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Was not impressed with this recipe. After reading other's reviews, I had the impression that this dish was not very spicy, but it was was too spicy for us. Also, even though the recipe didn't say to rinse the rice, I always do, and it still came out gummy and sticky. We ended up picking the shrimp out of the rice and eating them. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe was excellent. Great Flavor. I did however make a few adjustments only because I didn't have the exact ingridients on hand. I used Rice-a-Roni Long Grain Wild Rice with 1/2 cup of brown Rice(I din't have enough regular brwn rice) I also used a can of Rotel instead of reg. Diced tomatoes. I also added fresh mushrooms and garlic with the onions! Great Flavor, everyone loved it and it wasn't too spicy for the kids! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Now, it can be a bit spicy, so I usually start with half of the cayenne called for and go from there. I also use an extra half pound of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stokesdale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Easy to make - delicious. My wife wanted to have leftovers for main meal next day rather than planned meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Did this recipe like written except my sis can't stand heat so i omitted the cayene and added tsp minced garlic. Also, Since I had shrimp shells, I cooked them to make a shrimp broth, I substituted 1/4 cup chicken stock for shrimp. For those of you that felt it was bland, I would guess you used can chicken stock. I had made my chicken stock the day before and it (as well as the dish) had great flavor. Even though I stopped after I put in the bacon and second batch of stock, took the pot to my sister's (10min away), then added the shrimp and heated through till they were cooked, it still came out great. Thanks for a keeper oh, and the bacon does make it but so does homeade chicken/shrimp stock :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States