Island Shrimp and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I agree with fellow reviewers this dish was very salty I tried the recipe because I thought shrimp and bacon how could you go wrong? The combo is not a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Cuthrell Ellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made this extra spicey by using hot diced tomatoes. I liked this, but thought I would love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
It was ok. But to be honest, I don't like the shrimp and bacon combo as the bacon drowns the flavour of the shrimp. Wasn't for me but was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I felt this was too salty, due to the bacon. If I ever use it again, I'll use bacon bits instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Didn't have nutmeg & parsley. Added garlic powder. Was perfect. Make this once a week or so. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My husband and I were very disappointed with this recipe. I made it for Super Bowl supper but it wasn't at all what I had expected. There is some spice, maybe the nutmeg(?) that gave it a bitter flavor. I should have stayed with what I usually fix.We really prefer the New Orleans or Charleston style shrimp dishes. This seemed very ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Made almost exactly to the recipe my husband and I loved this recipe... the only thing I did different is that I used a pre-cooked blend of brown rice and quinoa. Yummy, a keeper for us for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Thanks a lot! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!! dad compared it with a jumbalaya, but, waaaay different. Just enough spice. We added a mango to it, so it was even better! I felt it was missing something though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I make a lot of recipes from AR. Every few months or so I come across a recipe that really wows me and goes into my list of favorites. This is one of those recipes! The sauce is so amazing. Perfect with rice and some french bread to sop up the rest. I prefer to always cook my rice in the rice cooker. For the shrimp/sauce mixture only use 1.5 cups of broth if not adding rice. You can then thicken the sauce if needed with corn startch. Also, I'm so glad I had my hubs run to the store for bacon. I don't really like nutmeg but 1/4tsp. taste just fine in this. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States