Island Sea Turtles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Carmel lacked flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Caramel too sticky and didn't come off my candy wrappers. It was delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These are a keeper. Don't cut yourself short by not using the sea salt and coconut. I'm really not a coconut fan, but in here it's great. Followed directions as is. After my carmel started to cool it got harder to work with-frustrating. Not sure how to avoid this?? Maybe it had something to do with the carmel temp? I will make these for the rest of my life for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These taste great! The only tricky part is assembling the turtles early enough that the caramel is still soft, but not so early that the turtles "spread" and deform after you create them. Keep an eye on the caramel temperature when cooking it, I think mine was a bit too soft. I will definitley hold on to this recipe and make again because they taste so good and look really cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are very yummy and a great spin on turtles. A couple of suggestions.....remove from heat at about 238 to 240. Certainly store in the fridge, but take out a couple of hours before serving or you will be disappointed in how hard the carmel is. Otherwise this is a very delicious candy and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkwilson5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatesville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
If I had to make these over again I would make some minor adjustments. 4-5 nuts in a cluster are just right. Make sure all of your macadamia nuts are halved. Also, 244 degrees is just too hot - 240 would be just about perfect. At 244 the caramel becomes chewy and almost too hard to eat after it has cooled. Afterr you remove the mixture from the burner you have to work quickly. My caramel becane stiff and difficult to work with after a few minutes off the burner. Not sure I would make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very clever and very yummy. This was my first attempt at candy making and I'm pretty impressed. My caramel stayed very soft, so plan on treating these guys gentley. Also I had to wait quite awhile for the caramel to cool enough to work with. I think mine took about an hour (though I may have slightly undercooked mine). Also, you can just break up the toasted coconut with you hands (no food processor or knife required) and stir it in. I made the caramel and put it over the nuts one evening, put them in the fridge and did the coating the next day. I made 36 (with 6 nut pcs each) and had some extra nuts and chocolate left over. I think 10 oz of bittersweet(with a tablespoon of shortening) would have been plenty. I did sprinkle the candies with just a little sea salt and encourage others to try it. The salt pairs wonderfully with the sweet caramel. I'm not talking about table salt or kosher salt. These are little flakes of sea salt (which has a slightly mineral taste and is less salty than other kinds). Again, I am a candy novice and they came out great. I'll definitely make them again and would certainly recommend the recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Very good, carmel stays soft and chewy. I used chocolate chips because I didn't have bittersweet chocolate. That seemed a bit too sweet. Next time I will be sure to use bittersweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Its so CUTE!!! I'm sure that i would have a bite of it if i could...... For the recipe, i wish to make a little suggestion: Maybe you could correct it by using chocolate, because chocolate taste good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was the easiest caramel recipe. I used it to make carameled apples. I didn't use the coconut for the turtles but other that that it came out perfect. I had no problems with sugar crystals forming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyvegasmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States