Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by vampyra1
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I'm not sure how to rate this recipe. The recipe is really good, the keilbasa tastes wonderful in this delectable sauce... but this shouldn't be cooked in a slowcooker. At the end of the 5 hours, I got sausage mush... which I should've expected because keilbasa is alreay cooked. Horrible in the slowcooker. Tried this again but heated the concoction up on the stove for a few minutes and it was delicious. Don't do this is a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vampyra1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I added sliced carrots, onions and peppers to the recipe and cut the brown sugar in half. The sauce was great served over rice. I did thicken it a bit with corn starch and added a little vinegar for a nice sweet/sour taste. Next time I will try it with chicken instead of the kielbasa. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This recipe is so easy! And the smell as it was cooking drove us all crazy! I did cut WAY down on the brown sugar, though, using only 3/4 cup. I also added 1/2 green pepper, chopped and 2 Tbls. dried minced onion. It made too much sauce for our use, BUT I saved the extra sauce and added it to some cocktail links on hand. My teenage boys loved that to snack on! Diane :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This was a nice suprise and fairly easy too. I used 3/4 cup brown sugar, 1 1/2 cups ketchup, 1 cup applesauce, 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar, 1/2 tbsp red wine vinegar, and 1/2 tbsp worcestershire sauce. Very Good! Added pineapples a few hours after kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This was fantastic! I would HIGHLY recommend starting with 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and adjusting to your taste. That is what I used and it was sweet. I also added some green pepper and onions which I left in rings which I believe heightened the flavors and added color as well. I served this over white rice as others suggested. Family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I combined this recipe with Party Kielbasa (also on this site) because when I initially made the first recipe, I thought it would be great with pineapple added. When I found this recipe with the pineapple, I read the reviews and since so many others thought it was too sweet, I used the grape jelly from the first recipe instead. It definitely is better with the pineapple but I didn't really like the almost stewed pineapple. Next time, I would add towards the end of the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
This dish is YUMMY! My daughter and husband both loved it! I served it with potatoes and corn. It is also very good served over white rice! The sauce was a bit too sweet though,so the next time I make it I will cut the amount of brown sugar down to one cup or maybe even less. I am anxious to take this to our next pot luck! I have to agree with some of the other reviews that the sausage does get mushy when cooked for the designated length of time. So I cut the cook time way down, just enough to get everything heated through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I made this for a luncheon at work and everybody loved it. I did take the advice of others and cut down on the brown sugar and ketchup. Will definitely make again for a cocktail party. Not sure I'd want to eat it for a meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Very good recipe! I did cut the sugar in 1/2 as suggested and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I used only 3/4 cup of brown sugar and the recipe turned out great. I took this to a party as an appetizer - simply unplugged the crockpot and brought along with toothpicks. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States