Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
My family enjoyed this recipe. I cooked on the stovetop rather than the slow cooker as mine would have been plugged in about 9 hours. I only had 1# of kielbasa so I halved the recipe, but needed to stretch it a little further, so I added some steamed carrots, and red & yellow peppers. We liked the sauce the ketchup and brown sugar made and it thickened up nicely on the stovetop. I served this over white sticky rice along with "Sweet Restaurant Slaw" from this site. The meal was delicious and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I love this recipe! I did cut down the brown sugar to 1 cup as everyone suggested... and instead of putting everything together I fried the kielbasa (thankyou to the person who reviewed that it turned to mush when kept in the slow cooker...when reading the recipe I thought that may happen as well!) separately then added it to the sauce after it was finished cooking. I only cooked the sauce for 2 hours. I did add 1 green pepper and a half of a large yellow onion chopped big...the lower cook time allowed the vegies to remain crisp and the extra kielbasa (I used 3 packages) used up all of the sauce nicely. I kept in the refrig. over night and set the crockpot for warm the next day! I used this as an appetizer while we were waiting for Thanksgiving dinner! It was all gone with-in 2 hours...everyone loved it! Thankyou all...for the wonderful recipe... and the excellent reviews that led to such an amazing appetizer! I should also let you know that I just bought the Hamilton Beach set and go slow cooker about a month ago and love it. Except for the probe...it's not long enough to reach the smaller pieces of meat...other then that it's great...I love the lock on lid...and the three different modes. I only tell you all this because I researched alot of crock pots/ slow cookers...and their reviews...and thought I could hopefully save anyone else the trouble. Anyway enjoy this great recipe! Thankyou all again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was way too sweet for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
great quick meal if you get the smoked kielbasa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
very easy and good for potlucks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
absolutely love this recipe! my mother who said wasnt hungry ate 3 huge helpings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
VERY sweet, but delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
my family loved this was quick n easy to cook on stove when i came home from work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Our very favorite!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Not awful, but not worthy of my kitchen a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 21-30 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States