Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
The original recipe does call for too much sauce and sweetness. I did this with 3lbs sausage, 2 cups diced bell pepper, 1 cup diced sweet onion, 1 cup ketchup, and 1/3rd cup brown sugar. After it had cooked for a couple hours on low, I added two cans (drained) chunk pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Lux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I used 1 cup brown sugar, 2 cups ketchup, and onions, green peppers and about tabl of cayenne pepper....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Not sure what went wrong, but this was not good. I love every single item that went into this dish (followed recipe exactly) but not how they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Brought to a party everyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
The sauce tastes really good but I was so distracted by the color - Mine ended up really red, and I just couldn't get past the bright red sauce. I ended up adding food coloring until it turned brown so that it would be more visually appealing. Other than that - really delcious. I followed others suggestions and cooked just long enough to heat through - (maybe that is why my sauce never turned brown like the picture shows).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was quiet good - surprising really for something so simple! I used chicken kielbasa as a personal preference and cut the sugar in half based on the reviews. I tossed in some diced bell pepper, cooked it on the stove for about 15 minutes, reducing the liquid at the end, and served it over rice. Quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCROOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was far too sweet for my tastes, almost sweet and sour, but without the sour. I'd cut some of the brown sugar and add vinegar to keep from going into diabetic shock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
To Salty, but the sauce was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
didnt care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Living In: Trinity, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PGH Bri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States