Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is a fairly easy recipe, but one that is NOT actually easier in the crock pot. I've found it much easier to just heat everything together over the stove, and serve over rice. The brown sugar can also be3 cut back as it is very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Simon Michener
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Greenville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I did this in the slow cooker and I wouldn't recommend that; the kielbasa was overcooked since it's already precooked and the sauce was very acidic; I'm not all that creative in the kitchen so I'm not sure what I would have done to decrease the acidity. I would probably decrease the amount of ketchup in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is also yummy with marchino cherries as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This is a very simple dish and when I've forgotten to thaw anything out, I can pull out the kielbasa and slice it frozen. I put in about 2/3 cup brown sugar. I start it on high until it gets heated through, and then turn the temp down so it can cook for a couple hours. I thicken it with cornstarch/water. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Quick and simple. Not bad. The original recipe is a touch too sweet, so I cut back the brown sugar to 1/3 cup, and to counter some of the sweetness from the pineapple juice, I added in 1/2 cup spicy brown mustard. I used a bigger, 20 oz can of pineapple chunks (undrained) as well as adding in 1 cup diced onion, 1 cup diced green pepper, and 1 cup snow peas...served over brown rice and was very appetizing. I would suggest adding some other sides if you're wanting to turn it into a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I absolutly loved it, and my family not liking fruit in there food are asking for more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Nothing special and overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavinSunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I enjoyed this.. I did add snow peas, shredded carrots and onions..added them a bit later than the sausage so they wouldn't get mushy. I also ran out of ketchup so I had to augment with some bloody mary mix.. tasty dinner. I served this over shirataki noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
My family loves this dish served over rice. I have made it 3 times in the last month... I think it is a little sweet and am working on tweaking it a bit. Still, very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I served it with rice and added green pepper and onion and used less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States