Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
cooked this on the stove top in a wok pan, served over Jasmine rice, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was an awesome delight. My family went to town and back for 2nds and then asked for more for a late night snack...cool by me. I took the orginial recipe and just converted it to healthier ingredients but staying true to what the ingredients were. I merely took Ketchup and used low-sugar Ketchup, I used a brown sugar sub in place of regular, and I used Pineapple sweetened with Splenda verses, the regular and I replaced the regular kielbasa with Turkey brand kielbasa. All in all it was totally delish, but I did find that in the slow cooking process, there was a ton of sauce. SO lucky for me I had extra packages of Turkey Kielbasa and I ended up using 2 more packages then requested in the orginal recipe. Which again was fine becuase my family loves leftovers. Then served it on top of rice. Will be making my modified healthier verison from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
this was not nasty but really not something I'd make again. Even with the suggestions of lowering the brown sugar it was still WAAAAY too sweet (and this coming from someone with a sweet tooth). The ketchup was overwhelming also. I don't even get the name either... what's so "Island" about this dish? it was not a good dish for an appetizer or main with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I made this just as you see it. Then, I put it over plain rice It was very good, so good in fact that there wasn't enough left after dinner to take pictures of. My husband was a little worried when he saw the ingredients but he changed his mind after his 3rd bowl. I left it in the crock pot and warmed it up for lunch and now its gone. I think I am going to make one of the custom versions next time, just to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyMakingMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Twin Valley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was a HUGE hit at a big family party - sweet, but not overwhelming. Great with rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCNEWMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I agree with most of the posts on this and was glad I followed everyone's advice... I had forgotten to plug in my crock pot- so I had 3 hrs and did it on high for 2 and low for 1- glad I reduced it, or my meat would have been mush. 5-6 hours would have been WAY too long- even on low. I used 1 1/2 cups ketchup and 1 cup brown sugar and that was PLENTY! I also used the juice from the pineapple in the rice- Im glad I didnt put the juice in the crockpot- would have been too sweet and too watery. I put the pineapple chunks in at the end, just long enough to heat. Overall, this was great and super easy with only a few ingredients. I called it sweet and sour hotdogs... my kids NEVER would have eaten "kielbasa"! LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
It was great. We read the reviews, cut brown sugar back to 1 cup plus, added green and yellow pepper, started on high for 2 hours, reduced to low for 2 and it was great. Actually better than expected. Usually crock pot things lack flavor but not this. By the way, the pineapple was fresh. But definitely a repeat. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I gave this a 4 NOT because I didn't like it........because I did! I just thought it was a little too sweet to be awesome. Next time I will cut down on the sweetness a bit and add some green peppers to the mix. Yummy with some sticky rice on Super Bowl Sunday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is a fairly easy recipe, but one that is NOT actually easier in the crock pot. I've found it much easier to just heat everything together over the stove, and serve over rice. The brown sugar can also be3 cut back as it is very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Greenville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States