Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
This dish is YUMMY! My daughter and husband both loved it! I served it with potatoes and corn. It is also very good served over white rice! The sauce was a bit too sweet though,so the next time I make it I will cut the amount of brown sugar down to one cup or maybe even less. I am anxious to take this to our next pot luck! I have to agree with some of the other reviews that the sausage does get mushy when cooked for the designated length of time. So I cut the cook time way down, just enough to get everything heated through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I love this. So easy that I've memorized it and it has become a staple now for a snack dish for company. Yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
all we did was cut the brown sugar in half and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
I added something to this and it was great. A small can of marachino cherries. Half at the beginning of the cook time and the other half toward the end. The neighborhood went crazy over it at the potluck. There were no leftovers, even my 2 year old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This recipe is so easy! And the smell as it was cooking drove us all crazy! I did cut WAY down on the brown sugar, though, using only 3/4 cup. I also added 1/2 green pepper, chopped and 2 Tbls. dried minced onion. It made too much sauce for our use, BUT I saved the extra sauce and added it to some cocktail links on hand. My teenage boys loved that to snack on! Diane :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
It is a bit too sweet for our taste,we reduce the sugar to about 1 1/3 cup of sugar,but other then that it is pretty good. Tina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
This dish is delish! I love the sweet sauce, and it reminds me of an appetizer my favorite aunt always makes. I can't wait to make it again, next time I am going to serve it as a main meal over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I added sliced carrots, onions and peppers to the recipe and cut the brown sugar in half. The sauce was great served over rice. I did thicken it a bit with corn starch and added a little vinegar for a nice sweet/sour taste. Next time I will try it with chicken instead of the kielbasa. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Very good recipe! I did cut the sugar in 1/2 as suggested and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I should've put less sugar..but I forgot to read the reviews again before I put it all together and it turned out WAY TOO sweet! Nobody really liked it. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States