Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This recipe is awesome! Made it a bunch of times and finally feel that I have perfected it. I cut the 2lbs of kielbasa into bite size pieces then browned them in a pan with a little bit of oil. If in a hurry I would throw them in without browning them first but they tend to come out mushier that way. After browning I put them on a plate with paper towel to soak up some of the oil then throw them in the crock pot with ¾ cup brown sugar, 2 cups of Ketchup, 15oz can pineapples chunks undrained, 1 cup of teriyaki sauce, 1 red onion sliced, 2 green peppers sliced. 4 hours on high served over white rice. It has quickly become a party favorite and everyone asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
It was good, but not great. Even cutting the ketchup and brown sugar and adding red pepper, it was still too sweet. If I make this again, I will cut the ketchup even more and use tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
this was OKAY i guess, we ate it and it was easy. seemed to be missing something though. i added a bag of frozen stir fry veggies to it, and alot less brown sugar. it was still sickening sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilliansmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olney, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NVRGonnaLoseWeight
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Delicious & very easy to make. Followed the suggestions to reduce ketchup & brown sugar to 1-1/2 cups & 1/2 cup, respectively; also added 1/2 cup each of chopped green peppers & yellow onions. For a thicker sauce, drain pineapples, but reserve approx 1/4 cup of the liquid & add it to the mix. If you're short on time, use skinless kielbasa & cook 2hrs on high. Prepared a batch for ofc potluck & everyone loved it!! Served over jasmine rice. Can't wait to try substituting shrimp for the kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NVRGonnaLoseWeight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was super easy to prepare. I loved the sweetness of the pineapple and brown sugar. Served over rice made a wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Made exactly as recipe specified, but then added green peppers and whole mushrooms. Served over white rice. It was very good for the minimal effort expended. My son mentioned that it smelled like sloppy joes due to similar ingredients. Very sweet. If I make again, I would definitely cut back on brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vermilion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was awesome! Super easy and really tasty. I didn't have regular brown sugar so I used 1/2 c Dark brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar to make the one cup suggestion from other reviews! Other than that I followed the instructions and had it over rice. My husband said it was pretty much the best thing he's ever eaten. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Not so good. Everyone loved it except for me. I think it is lacking something......I read the reviews and reduced the brown sugar and added some spicy brown mustard. IF I make it again, I will add some apricot preserves to this to see if it makes it better. Not a fan of this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
We enjoyed this and it was really easy! Crock pot recipes work perfectly for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Great on sandwiches!!! I followed others advice and cut the sugar. I used 1 cup loosely measured, to 3 lbs of kielbasa, 1 1/2 cups ketchup, 1 can unsweetened pineapple tidbits. I cut the kielbasa lengthwise in half and to size for the rolls I had. Put in all in the crock pot with 2 green and 1 yellow peppers on top. Heated for 3 hours and served at a picnic. I was shocked to see when I went back for seconds that the crock was wiped cleaned. Everyone enjoyed them. The meatballs that usually go were left. This made fantastic sandwiches, and I will be making this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States