Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
My husband and I absolutely love this recipe... I've found you can also make it over the stove to,p just let everything simmer until warm. It's quick and easy - I also added onions and it makes it even more delicious! Serve it over warm rice and it's scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajengels814

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I cut the sugar and ketchup in half, and I added carrots and green onions. And just for fun, I added 7 small apples that had been in my frig for a while. Other recipes added applesauce or apple cider vinegar, so I thought apples might add a nice touch to the dish. And it did. It was delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Followed recipe and it was very good. Added broccolli to give it more vegetables and color. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
As written, I think this dish would have been WAY too sweet. I cut the sugar down to about 2/3 cup, and it was still really, really sweet. I also added sliced carrots, onion, and green pepper. Fried the kielbasa and added it to the crockpot just before serving. I will definitely make again, but may switch out a cup of the ketchup for chili sauce to try to make it a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I love this recipe, to save time instead of ketchup and brown sugar I just use BBQ sauce. I also add green peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Soooo tasty! I made some changes to make it less sweet- really lowered the sugar and ketchup, added just a bit of worsteshire sauce for a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smbarnes98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I like to double of halve this depending on the size of our crowd, and it is always something adults as well as children enjoy. I usually choose beef sausage- chappell hill if I can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made many of the modifications mentioned: kielbasa cut into bite size pieces, brown with a large chopped onion, a red pepper and two green peppers, about a cup of chopped baby carrots and a large can of chunked pineapple, sauce reserved . Add to it a cup of ketchup, 3/4 cup of BBQ sauce, about 1/3 cup brown sugar, about 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar and a splash of Worcestershire sauce. Add about 4 tablespoons of cornstarch to the reserved pineapple juice and add to pan. I just use a stockpot, it cooks for about an hour at which time I am cooking the rice in the rice cooker. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Vaughan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
very good and yummy! I used only 3/4 cup of brown sugar and it was very sweet! I also added onions, like someone suggested... great add! It was very delicious over white rice, but this recipe seems more of an appetizer versus a main dish. I would make it again, but not on a regular basis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I use Heinz Chili Sauce instead of ketchup (more savory) and I brown the sausage before putting it into to the crock... then all the cook time in the slow-cooker is used for is to allow the brown sugar, pineapple and sauce to co-mingle with the kielbasa. Always the first to disappear at any potluck event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States