Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Maybe it was our Kielbasa but cooking for this long made the texture or ours soft and grainy. Won't be making again. I much prefer to saute the same ingredients in a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My family LOVED it. I too cut the sugar in half. Added carrots and served over rice. Will def. do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Surprisingly, this wasnt a huge hit in our house! I thought it would be, but no such luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Was a good dish.It has to be slow cooked as the recipe say's in order for the sausage to come out so tender, plus like a few of the others have said I cut down on the brown sugar. This dish is an "AGAINER"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was a good recipe and I will use this again for a party or potluck. Like other reviewers, I cut the brown sugar in half. I also added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce as it was very thin. Edit: I doubled this recipe for a party and cooked it in the oven on low heat for a few hours. It turned out even better than the crockpot. The sauce was much thicker. I received tons of compliments and requests for the recipe. It was such a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Yummy! Very sweet, which my family loves, but simple is what really makes it a keeper. We loved it served over rice and found that it cooks well in a covered stoneware baking dish if there isn't time for the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Well we just had it and let me tell you, the family loved it. My wife said that it wasn't something she would order out, but, if I wanted to make it 2-3 times a month she would love to eat it. We could absolutely see this made for our parties and family gatherings. Also, I also only used 3/4 cup brown sugar, added 1 med onion(diced up) and 1 green bell pepper (diced up)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe is great for kids! But to make it easier the recipe can be changed to 1 package kielbasa sliced, 1 bottle of chili sauce, and 1 can crushed pineapples. It's so quick and easy to throw those three ingredients together you don't even have to measure. The pineapple chunks are too big for little mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winnykins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
YUM!! I brought this for Potluck at work today and it was a HUGE HIT! I did revise with the advice of others- my changes: I used 3 links of sausage, 3/4cup of brown sugar, ADDED: 1 small onion sliced long and Thin, 1med green pepper sliced long and Thin. 1/4cup lemon juice. Threw all in crock pot and cooked on high for 2 hours, then on low for 1 hr. called it “Kielbasa Luau”. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This recipe was a hit at our last potluck! I doubled it and added onions and green pepper as others suggested; also reduced the brown sugar and it was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States