Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this once as it was and it was ok. The second time I made it I increased it to just over 3 pounds of kielbasa, I browned it in the pot then mixed the pineapple in and browned that with it while in a separate bowl I mixed the ketchup, brown sugar, pineapple juice, chili garlic paste and cayenne (we like it spicy) and poured it over. I let the entire mixture come to a rolling boil and then stuck it in the oven (in the pot) for a few hours till it turned into a nice thick saucy glaze. I served it with rice. The second version was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Used light brown sugar and it was perfect. I served this over white rice and everyone loved it. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was so good! I used half kielbasa and half andouille sausage. Based on the other reviews I used just 1 c. ketchup but about 3/4 of it was a spicy Indian ketchup that i love and the rest regular ketchup. I used 3/4 c. brown sugar and it was perfect. I added the canned pineapples (20 oz. - that's what i had) and a sliced onion after about 2 or 3 hours and cooked for just over 4 hours. I also reserved about 1/3 c. of the pineapple juice for the rice (brown). I had 2 helpings and i have to restrain myself from having another! So, so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VELOCITY99
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
1/2 c. sugar instead of 2 c. and it was still quite sweet. Cooked in oven for 30 min @ 375, stirring a few times. Added bell peppers and onions. Served over brown rice. Very good with srirracha drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Photo by msstokes80
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I took the advice of other reviewers and reduced the amount of sugar, but it was still really sweet. So, next time I'll probably omit the sugar. This dish was really good. I added onion, bell peppers and some BBQ sauce and cooked it in the slow cooker for about 3 hours. My sausages weren't mushy at all. I will defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I took some of the review comments and tried this recipe. Great. Has anyone tried substitution Shrimp for the Kielbasa?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
The sauce was good, the sausage turned to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Waaaaay too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made it the past couple of years for my office Christmas party and everyone loves it. It is so simple to make and comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States