Island Chicken with Fruit Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
I had extra mangos and limes - and was looking for a good recipe to use them - and this hit the spot. It was time consuming to make - especially with the fresh squeezed juices. It was a nice tsting dish - but due to the somewhat exotic ingredients, and the length of time to put together, I don't see myself making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
The marinade/salsa gave the chicken a nice flavor. As far as a side dish of salsa, I would have liked a little more "zing" in flavor, but I think I could modify that by adding a touch of jalapeno, or more chile pepper. All in all, a nice dish--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
I loved this! My husband, who hates cilantro and white meat chicken, thought it was tolerable. I had to use mangos and papaya out of a jar, but it seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
Excellent change for ordinary chicken. We grilled this on the b-b-q and it was so tender and the flavor was wonderful! Our company loved it! I would have liked to taste the rum a little more :) so i think i'll be a little more generous with that. The kids liked the chicken but not the salsa, ALL around an A+ in our books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
I just made the salsa portion of this recipe & served with taro root chips. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2001
I added Papayas as well as the mangos. I thought the papayas add more color and my kids like them more. Also I recommend the longer marinade time; 4 hours at least for full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2001
I made this a college and all of my friends raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
My family really liked it. Added it to the family favorites list!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2000
This recipe got rave reviews! it's better as an aadult dish because many children to not like cilantro and/or liquor. other than that you can prepare it ahead of time and then when dinner rolls around take the 20 min to cook the chicken and you're done. i served this with corn bread which was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2000
We were in a hurry so we just made the salsa and poured it on top of the cooked chicken breasts instead of marinating it. It was delicious! I only wish I could be eating it on a tropical island...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States