Iskender Kebab Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Iskender is served over pita bread soaked in yogurt and tomato puree. Doner Kebap is the dish served over rice. Also, my favorite way of preparing this is with lamb pressed with veal, rather than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Deliciously simple and tasty! My husband loves making this dish as it's very straight forward... I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I was happy to see this recipe. Actually the original Iskender Kebab was made famous by Iskender Efendi who has two of the most famous restaurants in Turkey, located in Bursa- they use toasted pita, not rice. I highly recommend anyone visiting turkey, to eat there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
As someone from the plae of the original recepie of Iskender Kebap, I liked the idea how it is twisted for making it at home. The common points with the original is the Tomato sauce, the yogurt and serving it over Pitta Bread. The original uses calf meat grilled nicely on a vertical skew also know as Doner (from the litteral meeaning of the word rotating). As the cook rotates the skew against the heat source, he or she slices the cooked meat, than the thin slices of meat is placed over warm bite size cut pitta (no spices) and served along side with thick full fat yogurt. On the table very warm tomato sauce (slightly diluted tomatoe paste and olive oil) and sizzling molten purified butter is poured over. You can immitate these thin slices of meat by taking out a block of frozen meat and cutting it thinly after letting it get slightly thaw partially, than frying the cuts on a teflon pan by adding just a little butter, salt and pepper. Iskender is best made in Bursa Turkey. Consider Turkey for your holidays a little far from US but worth visiting for gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anatolia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nathan
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I tried this last night. I would agree with the previous comments, use lots of cumin for flavour. Also, I used some chopped tomatoes from a tin along with the tomato puree for extra moisture. Dont use too much yogurt. Also, I added some fresh chopped mint leaves for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
You can also try this recipe with very thinly cut beef slices or minced meat. For the best taste, real butter could be used. Another suggestion could be to add some garlic paste to the yoghurt. The name is not coming from Alexander the Great, but from the name of the cook who invented and made this dish famous decades ago. His name was "Iskender" and he was from the city of Bursa. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
altogether I thought this was pretty good. We used quite a bit of cumin and served with pitas and homemade hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
An interesting combination of flavours. Needs more cumin than you may think! My mother really loved it, and she's not a chicken fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I have lived in Turkey for several years and Iskender Kebab is great. The why it is served in Turkey is on pide and is made with thin slices of doner which can be lamb or a mixture of lamb and beef. It will have a tomatoes sauce on top thin melted butter poured over it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States