Isaiah's Pretzel Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This tasted really good, had a nice crunch and the chicken came very tender. I used all the listed ingredients, but half the cayenne because it was for the kids too. I used large breasts and cut them into 4 quarters. I ran out of crumbs after 3 breasts - used italian style breadcrumbs for the remaining chicken. Make MORE pretzel crumbs or use less chicken because the pretzel crumbs were MUCH better! Ran out of egg too - use 3 eggs or 3 large breasts, not 4. I also put it in the oven at 400 for 20 min. on a foil lined baking sheet instead of frying - I'm just no good at frying on the stove top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Majewski Mazzuca
Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I used one large chicken breast that I cut into chunks. After breading, I deep fried the nuggets for 4 minutes at 350 F. I originally chose this recipe because I had some very slightly stale pretzels to use up. It's definitely a keeper! I've already had to share it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I used H.K. Anderson's pizza bites pretzles which I found really cheaply at Grocery Outlet. I just ground them up in my blender on the ice chip function. I also baked my chicken only to make it less greasy. I served this with Pasta with Chicken Mushroom Cream Sauce(minus the chicken)and garlic broccoli. We enjoyed this. It was really easy for me who happened to be short on time today. NOTE: You might want to drizzle a little butter over the top if you don't fry the chicken and add a little more spice. It might be a little bland and dry if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Easy to make, looks beautiful with its brown crust, takes very little time, and the meat eaters in my family really liked it. If you crush up the pretzels well, there is no problem with them sticking to the chicken. Next time I may change it up a bit and add a layer of mustard as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
We thought this was a little bland. The second time I made it, I used only one egg and added 1 tablespoon each of dijon mustard and honey. This made such a nice combination with the final dry coating. Sweet, salty & savory all together. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is EXCELLENT chicken and my whole family loves it! What a great idea to use pretzels for a coating! It makes quite a mess in the pan, but... totally worth it! The chicken is flavorful and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
thought this was great, i baked the fingers instead of frying. before i put them in the oven i sprayed with canola oil and the fingers came out crispy and awesome. served with honey dill dipping sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Really, really liked this! Great way to use up stale pretzels and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was delicious! I used butter pretzels as recommended. My 2 dinner guests really enjoyed this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
First, I had TONS of leftover pretzel mix, which I think is weird since a lot of reviewers said it wasn't enough. I was able to do 6 breasts with the amount of flour, egg, and pretzel mix with more leftover. I followed another's suggestion and baked at 400 for 20 minutes, but would fry next time for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States