Irresistible Whole Wheat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Came out light and delicious with all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was my first time making homemade bread and it was a success! My whole family loved this bread. It can be a long process but it's soo worth it! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Other than halving the recipe and proofing the yeast, I followed this recipe exactly. It didn't rise quite as much as I thought it would but it turned out just fine. It is a delicious bread that I will make all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly (minus the raisins), and my husband said "this is the best bread I have ever put in my mouth".... Fan-freaking-tastic! I will be making this again and again. I made the bread in loaf pans... best bread ever for peanut butter and jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
this recipe is the bomb! very soft sweet and yummy! I substituted coconut oil for the olive oil but other than that followed the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Best whole wheat challah recipe I ever found! In love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
(NOTE: make sure your water is hot enough to proof the yeast, a temperature of ~120 for the water should be added to the recipe). Otherwise, this recipe was surprisingly easy, and it's whole wheat flour! The kneading was the hardest part (and was very very easy to knead, compared to all of the other breads I've made before). The bread was beautiful when it came out of the oven, and was chewy and delicious. We made french toast with it the next day and it was delicious in that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This challah is amazing! I put the ingredients in my bread machine on the dough setting. When the dough is ready, I braid it, let it rise, and brush with an egg wash and sesame seeds. I haven't made it with raisins or the vital wheat gluten. Everyone who has tried it loves it! It doesn't last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Amazing. :) This is the BEST whole wheat bread I've ever tasted. Most WW bread is dense and dry, but this tastes like Nature's Own Whole Wheat bread. Only 5x better. I use the dough and then the bake setting on our bread maker, and the loaf rises so much that is pushes the top off. :) It is delicious, and stays moist for 4-5 day. I use it to make my sandwiches, and it tastes delicious microwaved with a little bit of honey drizzled on top. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Test
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States