Irresistible Whole Wheat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by She bakes a lot
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! 5 stars however many bakers may find that they need to add a little more flour because the dough is too sticky. My recommendation is to only add 1 tablespoon at a time until the dough is very tacky but not sticking to your hands. The flour takes time to absorb all the water and the dough will become less sticky after the last rise. You do not want to add too much flour. Dry dough = dry bread. I let my dough rise a total of 3 times for lighter loaf. After kneeding, let the dough rise for 20 minutes Punch down. Let rise for 60 min (2nd rise) Punch down. Shape into a braid. Let rise 45-60 minutes (3rd rise) Then bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 30 minutes as the recipe directions specify turning the pan once too ensure even browning. I highly recommend the most fantastic Challah Braiding tutorial from utube user from "Titli Nihaan, The Bread Kitchen" It's the best braiding video that I have found yet! I'll add it below. It's very easy to follow and shows you how to braid with multiple strands. it has examples of 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 or 9 strand braids. Amazing! You can stop and start the video at your will, and rewind again and again until you master the art good luck! https//www.youtube.com/watch? V=RP6j7esQyjk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelby Lynn Eagleburger
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made this bread as per recipe excluding the optional ingredients. My only modification was an egg wash for a bit of sheen. It came out beautifully. I was surprised at how much the olive oil flavor came through in a good way. Very soft inside with a nice crust. I was impressed at the lightness given the 100% whole wheat. I would most certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Lynn Eagleburger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ekay1526
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Made it according to the recipe (though halved everything since it was my first time trying it). My dough never rose in the bowl (def didn't double) and was very tough to roll into ropes for the braid. It rose a little on the pan. While baking it finally poofed up. The flavor was great though I might add more honey next time and the texture was more like regular wheat bread than challah. Don't know if there are any good suggestions to improve but I will def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This one didn't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Bowman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I joined just to review this recipe. This is the first successful challah bread I have made. All others were such heavy and dry failures I had started to think that maybe it wasn't meant to be. I tried to stick to the recipe as much as possible. In the end, the only two changes were to activate the yeast in warm water and a bit of honey first and then kneading in a bit more flour to help the dough be less sticky/wet and more sticky/tacky. This tastes like the nice brand of honey whole wheat bread that you buy at the grocery store. I didn't know it was possible to make such a light, soft, chewy bread yourself. I plan to use it as a sandwhich bread for the kids and also for French toast. Although to me this resembles a whole wheat sandwich bread more than a traditional challah in taste and texture, it is undeniably delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This recipe was good - tasted nice. However, I found myself struggling a lot with the kneading. And, to my disappointment, even after tracking down the vital wheat gluten and adding it to the mix, there was still a lot of flatness to the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenJen
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I joined allrecipes.com just to rate this amazing recipe! I have NEVER successfully baked in my life. I tried this today and wow! I'm not Jewish but the recipe appealed to me and I'm so glad I tried it! I left out the gluten and raisins. Ill upload a pic. It's so good, perfect moisture and texture. Now I'm inspired to bake ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is a great recipe -- surprisingly tender and flavorful for such a simple bread. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and a tiny bit of honey first. I used three eggs instead of two, and also let the dough rise three times. I used half extra virgin olive oil and half canola because I ran out of olive, and made six-stranded braids since they make such voluminous loaves. This will be my challah recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I've tried several whole wheat bread recipes and this one takes the cake! After reading the other reviews, I turned one half of this recipe into a glorious loaf of whole wheat bread which my whole family simply loves. I will continue to experiment with other whole wheat bread recipes but so far this is my go to fool proof loaf I know will always turn out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I have been trying different recipes for whole wheat Challah. This is the best yet. I think I will stop looking at different recipes and just work on making this one as perfect as possible. It was delicious. Soft and sweet and my kids loved it. Shabbat never tasted so good! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States