Irresistible Whole Wheat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I joined just to review this recipe. This is the first successful challah bread I have made. All others were such heavy and dry failures I had started to think that maybe it wasn't meant to be. I tried to stick to the recipe as much as possible. In the end, the only two changes were to activate the yeast in warm water and a bit of honey first and then kneading in a bit more flour to help the dough be less sticky/wet and more sticky/tacky. This tastes like the nice brand of honey whole wheat bread that you buy at the grocery store. I didn't know it was possible to make such a light, soft, chewy bread yourself. I plan to use it as a sandwhich bread for the kids and also for French toast. Although to me this resembles a whole wheat sandwich bread more than a traditional challah in taste and texture, it is undeniably delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This recipe was good - tasted nice. However, I found myself struggling a lot with the kneading. And, to my disappointment, even after tracking down the vital wheat gluten and adding it to the mix, there was still a lot of flatness to the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenJen
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I joined allrecipes.com just to rate this amazing recipe! I have NEVER successfully baked in my life. I tried this today and wow! I'm not Jewish but the recipe appealed to me and I'm so glad I tried it! I left out the gluten and raisins. Ill upload a pic. It's so good, perfect moisture and texture. Now I'm inspired to bake ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is a great recipe -- surprisingly tender and flavorful for such a simple bread. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and a tiny bit of honey first. I used three eggs instead of two, and also let the dough rise three times. I used half extra virgin olive oil and half canola because I ran out of olive, and made six-stranded braids since they make such voluminous loaves. This will be my challah recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I've tried several whole wheat bread recipes and this one takes the cake! After reading the other reviews, I turned one half of this recipe into a glorious loaf of whole wheat bread which my whole family simply loves. I will continue to experiment with other whole wheat bread recipes but so far this is my go to fool proof loaf I know will always turn out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I have been trying different recipes for whole wheat Challah. This is the best yet. I think I will stop looking at different recipes and just work on making this one as perfect as possible. It was delicious. Soft and sweet and my kids loved it. Shabbat never tasted so good! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Came out light and delicious with all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was my first time making homemade bread and it was a success! My whole family loved this bread. It can be a long process but it's soo worth it! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Other than halving the recipe and proofing the yeast, I followed this recipe exactly. It didn't rise quite as much as I thought it would but it turned out just fine. It is a delicious bread that I will make all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly (minus the raisins), and my husband said "this is the best bread I have ever put in my mouth".... Fan-freaking-tastic! I will be making this again and again. I made the bread in loaf pans... best bread ever for peanut butter and jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States