Irresistible Whole Wheat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JenJen
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I joined allrecipes.com just to rate this amazing recipe! I have NEVER successfully baked in my life. I tried this today and wow! I'm not Jewish but the recipe appealed to me and I'm so glad I tried it! I left out the gluten and raisins. Ill upload a pic. It's so good, perfect moisture and texture. Now I'm inspired to bake ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is a great recipe -- surprisingly tender and flavorful for such a simple bread. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and a tiny bit of honey first. I used three eggs instead of two, and also let the dough rise three times. I used half extra virgin olive oil and half canola because I ran out of olive, and made six-stranded braids since they make such voluminous loaves. This will be my challah recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I've tried several whole wheat bread recipes and this one takes the cake! After reading the other reviews, I turned one half of this recipe into a glorious loaf of whole wheat bread which my whole family simply loves. I will continue to experiment with other whole wheat bread recipes but so far this is my go to fool proof loaf I know will always turn out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I have been trying different recipes for whole wheat Challah. This is the best yet. I think I will stop looking at different recipes and just work on making this one as perfect as possible. It was delicious. Soft and sweet and my kids loved it. Shabbat never tasted so good! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Came out light and delicious with all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was my first time making homemade bread and it was a success! My whole family loved this bread. It can be a long process but it's soo worth it! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Other than halving the recipe and proofing the yeast, I followed this recipe exactly. It didn't rise quite as much as I thought it would but it turned out just fine. It is a delicious bread that I will make all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly (minus the raisins), and my husband said "this is the best bread I have ever put in my mouth".... Fan-freaking-tastic! I will be making this again and again. I made the bread in loaf pans... best bread ever for peanut butter and jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
this recipe is the bomb! very soft sweet and yummy! I substituted coconut oil for the olive oil but other than that followed the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Best whole wheat challah recipe I ever found! In love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States