Irresistible Raspberry Buttermilk Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This recipe sounded delicious, but I decided to adjust the sugar according to the other reviews. I only added 2 1/2 cups sugar, which was perfect. We did like it, but everyone felt that the dumplings were just tasteless lumps of dough. Yes, they were covered in the awesome berry syrup, but we couldn't get past the bland taste of them after you bit into it. I will probably make this again, but next time I'll try adding some sugar to the dumplings for that sweetness in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CASANDREAS
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Used wild picked black raspberries. Only two cups (and I think even less next time) of sugar and increased lemon to 1 tsp. Had a nice raspberry flavor and the dumplings were fun especially as it has been too hot to bake this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASANDREAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Marys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Delicious! I used milk with a couple of teaspoons of vinegar instead of buttermilk and red raspberries. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is exactly what we called Grandma's Roly Poly. Growing up in Canada, we would go out and pick some fresh berries, bring them back to Grandma and she would make up a Roly Poly. Always delicious! I have tried many times to find a recipe under that name but couldn't find the right thing. I did cut back the sugar a little and then threw in a few cranberries for the tartness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Tasty, but very, VERY sweet. If I make these again, I will cut down on the sugar and add more lemon juice. If the lemon was meant to add any tarness, there isn't nearly enough to do the trick. These are very simple to make. I did need to add some extra buttermilk to make my dumpling dough soft enough. Flipping the dumplings was a little tricky because they were very crowded in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I wish I had read all of the reviews before I made this. I used blackberries which were already very naturally sweet. It turned out delicious, however it was even much to sweet fro my 4 boys. It was like eating dumplings in syrup. The dumplings soaked up allot of the sugar so everything about it was SWEET! I will definately make again but only using half the sugar. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We loved them. I substituted strawberries, so I had to step the sugar down to 1/2 cup to begin with and sweetened to taste. I would recommend you did the same with the raspberries starting at about 2 cups, because it can easily get too sweet depending on your batch of berries. After the dumplings cooked off I tossed in a handful of fresh slices strawberries into the syrup for texture. I've even made the syrup ahead of time and finished it off in a crockpot before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is a very interesting and yummy recipe -- the dumplings are tasty and the berries (I used a mix of raspberries, blackberries, strawberries, and blueberries) made for a nice dumpling sauce. However, I cut the amount of sugar (used brown sugar instead of white) by about two-thirds, and it was still sickeningly sweet. I'd suggest adding the sugar slowly until you reach the level of sweetness that suits your taste, rather than simply trusting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I don't think my sauce was hot enough when I dropped the dumplings in because they formed one big glob at the top of the pan but when I turned up the heat a little bit and it began to boil they eventually broke into smaller pieces (I helped by gently mixing it). I also put 1/2 cup less sugar than the recipe called for because it seemed like an awful lot of sugar (I was going to only put 3 cups of sugar in but I was afraid it might not turn out at all). However, despite that and the fact that due to the sauce not being hot enough (at first) I think the dumplings soaked up some of the sauce (I don't think the dumplings are supposed to be black all the way through like little black raspberry balls...instead I think they're supposed to look like little bisquits -oh well!)...despite all of that, the finished product is still delicious! I put some half and half over it to cool it because I couldn't wait for it to cool naturally. My hubby put whipped cream on it and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is a nice recipe, But it is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busymoni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States