Irresistible Raspberry Buttermilk Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
i also, started making these before reading all the reviews. i noticed the flour mixture never got to pea sized, and i had to add extra buttermilk to form a dough. holy sweetness batman! although this is delicious, its definatly over-sweet. i would definatly cut down on the sugar, by at least HALF! NO JOKE! when i had my first bowl, i had with vanilla ice cream, and without the ice cream to mellow out the sugar, it would have been too much. i am freezing the juice/berry mixture for pancakes & ice creams for a later date. i would definately make again, but tweak the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaire Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
These are almost sicky sweet, and could use less sugar, and more tartness. However, the most pertinent advise I would give anyone looking to make this tasty treat is to use a pan at least twice the size you think you need. Dumplings need space, especially if you're going to flip them. Cram them all into a too small pot and end up with crumbled dumpling mess, and a fantastically purple stove that will be loads of fun to clean up after all that syrup has cooled onto your stovetop. Otherwise, these are a great sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This recipe sounded delicious, but I decided to adjust the sugar according to the other reviews. I only added 2 1/2 cups sugar, which was perfect. We did like it, but everyone felt that the dumplings were just tasteless lumps of dough. Yes, they were covered in the awesome berry syrup, but we couldn't get past the bland taste of them after you bit into it. I will probably make this again, but next time I'll try adding some sugar to the dumplings for that sweetness in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CASANDREAS
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Used wild picked black raspberries. Only two cups (and I think even less next time) of sugar and increased lemon to 1 tsp. Had a nice raspberry flavor and the dumplings were fun especially as it has been too hot to bake this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASANDREAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Marys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Delicious! I used milk with a couple of teaspoons of vinegar instead of buttermilk and red raspberries. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is exactly what we called Grandma's Roly Poly. Growing up in Canada, we would go out and pick some fresh berries, bring them back to Grandma and she would make up a Roly Poly. Always delicious! I have tried many times to find a recipe under that name but couldn't find the right thing. I did cut back the sugar a little and then threw in a few cranberries for the tartness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Tasty, but very, VERY sweet. If I make these again, I will cut down on the sugar and add more lemon juice. If the lemon was meant to add any tarness, there isn't nearly enough to do the trick. These are very simple to make. I did need to add some extra buttermilk to make my dumpling dough soft enough. Flipping the dumplings was a little tricky because they were very crowded in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I wish I had read all of the reviews before I made this. I used blackberries which were already very naturally sweet. It turned out delicious, however it was even much to sweet fro my 4 boys. It was like eating dumplings in syrup. The dumplings soaked up allot of the sugar so everything about it was SWEET! I will definately make again but only using half the sugar. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We loved them. I substituted strawberries, so I had to step the sugar down to 1/2 cup to begin with and sweetened to taste. I would recommend you did the same with the raspberries starting at about 2 cups, because it can easily get too sweet depending on your batch of berries. After the dumplings cooked off I tossed in a handful of fresh slices strawberries into the syrup for texture. I've even made the syrup ahead of time and finished it off in a crockpot before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is a very interesting and yummy recipe -- the dumplings are tasty and the berries (I used a mix of raspberries, blackberries, strawberries, and blueberries) made for a nice dumpling sauce. However, I cut the amount of sugar (used brown sugar instead of white) by about two-thirds, and it was still sickeningly sweet. I'd suggest adding the sugar slowly until you reach the level of sweetness that suits your taste, rather than simply trusting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States