Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Yummy, see recipe changes, added tsp vanilla and tbl spoon of flour and left out chopped pecans for filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
It was a Thanksgiving hit! I did as others suggested and added flour and vanilla to the filling. I also only used one 2 cup bag of whole pecans and chopped up part of the bag for the "quartered" pecans and chopped some up even more for the "finely crushed". I doubt I had more than 1/2 cup for the whole pecans on the top, but it was still great. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
LOVE this pecan pie recipe! It's about as close as my mom's that I've been unable to find. I've made this several times, and after doing it a couple times, I don't use any crushed or quartered pecans. I just use 2 cups of whole pecans, and I mix that into the syrup mixture, because all the pecans, crushed or not, rise to the top when baking anyway, so all that work and arranging is rather pointless. Also, for the people who have had problems with the pecans on top burning, it's because they have no protection - if you do like the recipe does, then save a few tablespoons of the mixture to drizzle over the top - this will prevent them from burning. (The first time I made it, I didn't do that, and they burned, too.) Or just mix them all in like I do - it's SO much easier, super quick to make, and every year around the holidays, people love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My pie was sitting in the over flowed butter. It was spinning around in the pan like a wheel there was so much butter. The crust was like a chip! And wasn't too much filling mostly nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was my very first time baking a pecan pie and it was perfect. This recipe is not over-overpoweringly sweet which is why I liked it so well. I did make a mistake by including too many pecans in the pie. I placed pecans on the bottom, sides, and the top so the filling was over powered by the pecans. When I bake it again, and I will, I will follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this pie first yesterday for Thanksgiving. After pulling it from the oven, I realized I had left out the melted butter in the filling by accident. I was very concerned about how it would make the pie turn out so I ended up tasting it last night. I'm so glad I did! This was very dense...too many nuts...and I only used the 1/2 cup of finely crushed and the 1 cup of chopped pecans. I don't know that the missing butter would make that big of a difference, but I was not happy with this one. Ended making another pie, using a different recipe and I was very happy with that one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Good, but not great. I would reduce the cooking time by about 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I first rated this 4 stars but since changed it to 3. Flavor was good but there were too many nuts. Also the pie became quite runny and nobody liked it the next day. Will try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
i had to use a pillsbury crust cause this was my first attempt (not pretty), but OMG, this pie is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this tonight and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States