Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
YUM! i must add that I did not use the pie crust recipe provided. instead, i used a prepared pie crust that i found at the local grocery store. few changes: i used about 2 cups of chopped pecans, and only a few whole pecans just to decorate the top. i didn't see the need for the extra finely chopped pecans. I also used 2 tablespoons of maple syrup instead of dark corn syrup. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and a pinch of cinnamon. Delicious! (i even think this pecan pie isa lot better than some of the pecan pies on this site with higher ratings!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this for Fathers Day and oh my goodness,I should have made two.It was my first attempt at a pecan pie and what a hit.I did use pure maple syrup in place of the dark corn syrup and added some melted caramels mixed with a little milk plus 1 tbl of flour to the base.WOW!!!No need to look for any other recipe for pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was my first attempt ever at a pie made from scratch, and it turned out beautifully. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
My family and I found that this recipe is perfect! It isn't too sweet and is very nutty making for a perfect balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelicRene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Silver Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The title/description says it all! If I could give a 10 I would! Thank you thank you thank you since i've been looking for the perfect pecan pie recipe and this is it!!!! I like a kinda goey pecan pie and this is perfect goo to pecan ratio ;) LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
The pie filling is terrific! However, the pie crust was really hard and crunchy, not flaky. I would have liked my regular pie crust better. But I will definitely be making this pie filling again. I hate it when pecan pies are nothing more than a sprinkling of nuts on top of a gelatinous goo, but this was delicious with nuts throughout a smooth buttery brown sugary filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I give this 5 stars for the same reason others gave it less - it has much more nuts than most pecan pie recipes. If you like the traditional pecan pie, this might be too nutty for you. If, however, you want more nuts than "goo" then this recipe is the one you want. The texture is great and the flavor is wonderful. I will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I'm not rating the crust because I have my own recipe, but with the two tiny changes I made, the the filling is AMAZING! Everyone that has a slice, says it's the best pecan pie they have ever had. I've even had a few come back for seconds (that's saying something when you think about the massive calorie count in a recipe like this, lol). The only changes I made were adding 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract and just using 2 cups of chopped pecans. Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelsb78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
First time I've made a pecan pie and it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sshryock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burien, Washington, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I love this recipe and have been making this pie for a couple of years now. I generally follow the recipe and get rave reviews every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States