Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly as written, and now I am serving burnt pie for Thanksgiving! Something I learned after it was too late - butter burns at 350 degrees, so either turn it down to 325, bake it less than the hour it says, or just find a different recipe (I suggest the latter). I haven't tried it yet, but if it tastes anything like it looks it's a huge waste of expensive pecans. P.S.: You might want to cover the top...the pecans are just as burnt as the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Wasn't really a fan, despite the addition of a bit of flour it was still too syrup-y for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
The pecan pie our family likes the best is always made with light Karo, not dark syrup. It is not as strong and brings requests for the recipe and another slice of pie. Also, I use 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract for each pie. A bought Pillsbury refrigerated crust is just as good as homemade.......so.....why go to the trouble, if time is not on your side? Our Pecan Pie Recipe: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 1 Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust, rolled out, placed in a deep dish pie plate, and edges crimped- set aside. In a medium bowl, stir together the following: 3 lightly beaten eggs 1/2 c. Sugar 1 cup light Karo syrup 1/4 teas. salt 1/2 stick melted butter (Use real butter!) 2 teas. Pure vanilla extract 1 1/2- 2 cups large pecan pieces Pour this mixture into unbaked crust and bake at 350 degrees for 45 min.- 1 hr. (Middle should not jiggle.) It is also a good idea to cover the edges of the pie crust with foil after about 30 min. So they do not get too brown. You can serve this pie hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Simply irresistible! Made this twice so far with rave reviews! I used this recipie the first time I ever made a pecan pie. I decorated it the way they do in the picture too and people thought I had spent all day in the kitchen. Great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUCKENJD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Photo by lace
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This pie was delicious and I'm just starting to like pecans. As others suggested, I added 1.5 tsp vanilla and 1 Tbsp flour to the batter. I baked in a deep dish pie plate on the 2nd to lowest shelf, but had to cover with foil in the last 10-15 minutes to avoid burning the top. Next time, I plan to bake at 325 instead of 350. I baked a chocolate pecan pie at 325 the same night and it came out perfect without having to cover it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
The only problem w/ this pie was me. I burned the top a little and so it was "extra" done...my friend who's a true Southerner said it was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
YUM! i must add that I did not use the pie crust recipe provided. instead, i used a prepared pie crust that i found at the local grocery store. few changes: i used about 2 cups of chopped pecans, and only a few whole pecans just to decorate the top. i didn't see the need for the extra finely chopped pecans. I also used 2 tablespoons of maple syrup instead of dark corn syrup. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and a pinch of cinnamon. Delicious! (i even think this pecan pie isa lot better than some of the pecan pies on this site with higher ratings!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this for Fathers Day and oh my goodness,I should have made two.It was my first attempt at a pecan pie and what a hit.I did use pure maple syrup in place of the dark corn syrup and added some melted caramels mixed with a little milk plus 1 tbl of flour to the base.WOW!!!No need to look for any other recipe for pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was my first attempt ever at a pie made from scratch, and it turned out beautifully. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States