Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
The pie filling is terrific! However, the pie crust was really hard and crunchy, not flaky. I would have liked my regular pie crust better. But I will definitely be making this pie filling again. I hate it when pecan pies are nothing more than a sprinkling of nuts on top of a gelatinous goo, but this was delicious with nuts throughout a smooth buttery brown sugary filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I give this 5 stars for the same reason others gave it less - it has much more nuts than most pecan pie recipes. If you like the traditional pecan pie, this might be too nutty for you. If, however, you want more nuts than "goo" then this recipe is the one you want. The texture is great and the flavor is wonderful. I will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I'm not rating the crust because I have my own recipe, but with the two tiny changes I made, the the filling is AMAZING! Everyone that has a slice, says it's the best pecan pie they have ever had. I've even had a few come back for seconds (that's saying something when you think about the massive calorie count in a recipe like this, lol). The only changes I made were adding 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract and just using 2 cups of chopped pecans. Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelsb78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
First time I've made a pecan pie and it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sshryock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burien, Washington, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I love this recipe and have been making this pie for a couple of years now. I generally follow the recipe and get rave reviews every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhoneycutt
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was very good. Store was out of Whole pecans so i ended up using all chopped pecans and crushed some up for the finely. also did take the recommendation and added some vanilla. other than that followed the recipe and had an excellent pecan Pie !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving with my boyfriend's family and it was divine! Per other reviewers I added a tablespoon of flour to the corn syrup mixture and omitted the bottom layer of pecans, just to try things out. It was great! Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is the third Thanksgiving in a row that this has been our pecan pie recipe. It is so wonderful. Everyone loves it. Gooey. Rich. Tastes great. Thanks, IHART44!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wonderful! I followed others' advice and added 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla & 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also added 1 tbs of flour to thicken the filling but next time I think I will add less...I prefer the filling to be in between gooey & solid. I also used a Pillsbury pie crust to save time (don't forget to flour it!). Loved the taste! Rave reviews from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
AWESOME all the pecans in the goo is wonderful; everyone LOVED it. I used my own pie crust recipe but followed everything else in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States